× Take our 30-second survey
The U.S. National Science Foundation and iDigBio are required to collect information on use of digitized collections-based specimen data. Please help us meet this requirement every time you use this search portal. Sustainability of the national digitization effort depends on evidence of data use! Maybe later.

Specimen Record

ContinentArctic Ocean
CountryUnited States
State/ProvinceKansas
County/ParishCrawford
LocalityPittsburg, 3 Mi Ne
Latitude37.444
Longitude-94.6173
Institution CodeKu
Collection CodeSemc
Catalog Number757276
Collected BySalsbury, Glenn
Date Collected2005-06-13

From Recordset

http://biodiversity.ku.edu/entomology/collections

SEMC (Snow Entomological Museum Collection) comprises nearly 5 million pinned insect specimens. Our strengths are Apoidea, Neotropical Coleoptera (especially Staphylinidae, Hydrophiloidea, and Chrysomoloidea), Mecoptera, and fossil insects. We have digitized approximately 800,000 individual specimens (mostly Apoidea and Staphylinidae, Orthoptera, and various other smaller families).

Contacts

Name Jennifer Thomas
RoleAssistant Collection Manager
Emailjct@ku.edu
Name Jennifer Thomas
RoleAssistant Collection Manager
Emailjct@ku.edu
Name Michael Engel
RoleCurator in Charge
Emailmsengel@ku.edu
Name Caroline Chaboo
RoleCurator
Emailcschaboo@ku.edu
Name Andrew Short
RoleCurator
Emailaezshort@ku.edu
Name Laura Russell
RoleVertNet Programmer
Emaillarussell@ku.edu
Name Zack Falin
RoleCollection Manager
Emailksem@ku.edu
  • Data
  • Flags
  • Raw
Taxonomy
Scientific NameAcanthocephalus terminalis
KingdomAnimalia
PhylumArthropoda
ClassInsecta
OrderHemiptera
FamilyCoreidae
GenusAcanthocephalus
Specific Epithetterminalis
Specimen
Identified ByPackauskas, Richard
Date Identified2012
Catalog Number757276
PreparationsPinned - 1
Life Stageadult
Institution CodeKU
Collection CodeSEMC
Occurrence ID1d8b0e19-1ed6-11e3-bfac-90b11c41863e
Dataset NameSnow Entomological Museum Collection
Basis of RecordPreservedSpecimen
Collection Event
Collected BySalsbury, Glenn
Date Collected2005-06-13
Year2005
Month6
Day13
Locality
CountryUnited States
State / ProvinceKansas
CountyCrawford
Higher GeographyUnited States, Kansas, Crawford
ContinentNearctic
LocalityPittsburg, 3 mi NE
Decimal Latitude37.4440
Decimal Longitude-94.6173
Georeference ProtocolGPS
specimen list