× Take our 30-second survey
The U.S. National Science Foundation and iDigBio are required to collect information on use of digitized collections-based specimen data. Please help us meet this requirement every time you use this search portal. Sustainability of the national digitization effort depends on evidence of data use! Maybe later.

Specimen Record

ContinentOceania
CountryNew Zealand
State/ProvinceNorth Islands
County/Parish(auckland-ak)
LocalityMt. William
Latitude-37.2166667
Longitude175.0333333
Institution CodeKu
Collection CodeSemc
Catalog Number641952
Collected ByLeschen, Hall, Hoare
Date Collected1999-04-25

From Recordset

http://biodiversity.ku.edu/entomology/collections

SEMC (Snow Entomological Museum Collection) comprises nearly 5 million pinned insect specimens. Our strengths are Apoidea, Neotropical Coleoptera (especially Staphylinidae, Hydrophiloidea, and Chrysomoloidea), Mecoptera, and fossil insects. We have digitized approximately 800,000 individual specimens (mostly Apoidea and Staphylinidae, Orthoptera, and various other smaller families).

Contacts

Name Jennifer Thomas
RoleAssistant Collection Manager
Emailjct@ku.edu
Name Jennifer Thomas
RoleAssistant Collection Manager
Emailjct@ku.edu
Name Michael Engel
RoleCurator in Charge
Emailmsengel@ku.edu
Name Caroline Chaboo
RoleCurator
Emailcschaboo@ku.edu
Name Andrew Short
RoleCurator
Emailaezshort@ku.edu
Name Laura Russell
RoleVertNet Programmer
Emaillarussell@ku.edu
Name Zack Falin
RoleCollection Manager
Emailksem@ku.edu
  • Data
  • Flags
  • Raw
Taxonomy
Scientific NameParepierus
KingdomAnimalia
PhylumArthropoda
ClassInsecta
OrderColeoptera
FamilyHisteridae
GenusParepierus
Specimen
Identified ByTishechkin, A
Date Identified2010
Catalog Number641952
PreparationsPinned - 1
Life Stageadult
Institution CodeKU
Collection CodeSEMC
Occurrence ID247e944d-1ed6-11e3-bfac-90b11c41863e
Dataset NameSnow Entomological Museum Collection
Basis of RecordPreservedSpecimen
Collection Event
Collected ByLeschen, Hall, Hoare
Date Collected1999-04-25
Year1999
Month4
Day25
Locality
CountryNew Zealand
State / ProvinceNorth Islands
County(Auckland-AK)
Higher GeographyNew Zealand, North Islands, (Auckland-AK)
ContinentAustralian
LocalityMt. William
Decimal Latitude-37.2166667
Decimal Longitude175.0333333
Georeference ProtocolGPS
specimen list