× Take our 30-second survey
The U.S. National Science Foundation and iDigBio are required to collect information on use of digitized collections-based specimen data. Please help us meet this requirement every time you use this search portal. Sustainability of the national digitization effort depends on evidence of data use! Maybe later.

Specimen Record

ContinentArctic Ocean
CountryUnited States
State/ProvinceKansas
County/ParishFinney
LocalityGarden City, 7 Mi E
Latitude37.97722
Longitude-100.7344
Institution CodeKu
Collection CodeSemc
Catalog Number403256
Collected ByMichener & Wille
Date Collected1952-04-12

From Recordset

http://biodiversity.ku.edu/entomology/collections

SEMC (Snow Entomological Museum Collection) comprises nearly 5 million pinned insect specimens. Our strengths are Apoidea, Neotropical Coleoptera (especially Staphylinidae, Hydrophiloidea, and Chrysomoloidea), Mecoptera, and fossil insects. We have digitized approximately 800,000 individual specimens (mostly Apoidea and Staphylinidae, Orthoptera, and various other smaller families).

Contacts

Name Jennifer Thomas
RoleAssistant Collection Manager
Emailjct@ku.edu
Name Jennifer Thomas
RoleAssistant Collection Manager
Emailjct@ku.edu
Name Michael Engel
RoleCurator in Charge
Emailmsengel@ku.edu
Name Caroline Chaboo
RoleCurator
Emailcschaboo@ku.edu
Name Andrew Short
RoleCurator
Emailaezshort@ku.edu
Name Laura Russell
RoleVertNet Programmer
Emaillarussell@ku.edu
Name Zack Falin
RoleCollection Manager
Emailksem@ku.edu
  • Data
  • Flags
  • Raw
Taxonomy
Scientific NameMetapsaenythia abdominalis abdominalis
KingdomAnimalia
PhylumArthropoda
ClassInsecta
OrderHymenoptera
FamilyAndrenidae
GenusMetapsaenythia
Specific Epithetabdominalis
Infraspecific Epithetabdominalis
Specimen
Identified Byunknown
Catalog Number403256
PreparationsPinned - 1
Life Stageadult
SexF
Institution CodeKU
Collection CodeSEMC
Occurrence ID24b0997f-1ed6-11e3-bfac-90b11c41863e
Dataset NameSnow Entomological Museum Collection
Basis of RecordPreservedSpecimen
Associated TaxaMonarda
Collection Event
Collected ByMichener & Wille
Date Collected1952-04-12
Year1952
Month4
Day12
Locality
CountryUnited States
State / ProvinceKansas
CountyFinney
Higher GeographyUnited States, Kansas, Finney
ContinentNearctic
LocalityGarden City, 7 mi E
Decimal Latitude37.97722
Decimal Longitude-100.7344
specimen list