× Take our 30-second survey
The U.S. National Science Foundation and iDigBio are required to collect information on use of digitized collections-based specimen data. Please help us meet this requirement every time you use this search portal. Sustainability of the national digitization effort depends on evidence of data use! Maybe later.

Specimen Record

ContinentArctic Ocean
CountryUnited States
State/ProvinceKansas
County/ParishMarshall
LocalityAlcove Springs State Park, Near Parking Lot
Latitude39.74979
Longitude-96.67864
Institution CodeKu
Collection CodeSemc
Catalog Number962291
Collected ByFalin, Zachary
Date Collected2011-06-04

From Recordset

http://biodiversity.ku.edu/entomology/collections

SEMC (Snow Entomological Museum Collection) comprises nearly 5 million pinned insect specimens. Our strengths are Apoidea, Neotropical Coleoptera (especially Staphylinidae, Hydrophiloidea, and Chrysomoloidea), Mecoptera, and fossil insects. We have digitized approximately 800,000 individual specimens (mostly Apoidea and Staphylinidae, Orthoptera, and various other smaller families).

Contacts

Name Jennifer Thomas
RoleAssistant Collection Manager
Emailjct@ku.edu
Name Jennifer Thomas
RoleAssistant Collection Manager
Emailjct@ku.edu
Name Michael Engel
RoleCurator in Charge
Emailmsengel@ku.edu
Name Caroline Chaboo
RoleCurator
Emailcschaboo@ku.edu
Name Andrew Short
RoleCurator
Emailaezshort@ku.edu
Name Laura Russell
RoleVertNet Programmer
Emaillarussell@ku.edu
Name Zack Falin
RoleCollection Manager
Emailksem@ku.edu
  • Data
  • Flags
  • Raw
Taxonomy
Scientific NameDiochus schaumi
KingdomAnimalia
PhylumArthropoda
ClassInsecta
OrderColeoptera
FamilyStaphylinidae
GenusDiochus
Specific Epithetschaumi
Specimen
Identified ByFalin, Zachary
Date Identified2012
Catalog Number962291
PreparationsPinned - 1
Life Stageadult
Institution CodeKU
Collection CodeSEMC
Occurrence ID23161a30-1ed6-11e3-bfac-90b11c41863e
Dataset NameSnow Entomological Museum Collection
Basis of RecordPreservedSpecimen
Collection Event
Collected ByFalin, Zachary
Date Collected2011-06-04
Year2011
Month6
Day4
Locality
CountryUnited States
State / ProvinceKansas
CountyMarshall
Higher GeographyUnited States, Kansas, Marshall
ContinentNearctic
LocalityAlcove Springs State Park, near parking lot
Habitatleaf/forest litter
Decimal Latitude39.74979
Decimal Longitude-96.67864
Georeference ProtocolGPS
specimen list