× Take our 30-second survey
The U.S. National Science Foundation and iDigBio are required to collect information on use of digitized collections-based specimen data. Please help us meet this requirement every time you use this search portal. Sustainability of the national digitization effort depends on evidence of data use! Maybe later.

Specimen Record

ContinentNorth America
CountryMexico
State/ProvinceMichoacan
LocalityUruapan, N, Hwy 37, Km 5
Latitude19.81
Longitude-102.0233333
Institution CodeKu
Collection CodeSemc
Catalog Number958250
Collected ByBrzoska, David
Date Collected2010-07-08

From Recordset

http://biodiversity.ku.edu/entomology/collections

SEMC (Snow Entomological Museum Collection) comprises nearly 5 million pinned insect specimens. Our strengths are Apoidea, Neotropical Coleoptera (especially Staphylinidae, Hydrophiloidea, and Chrysomoloidea), Mecoptera, and fossil insects. We have digitized approximately 800,000 individual specimens (mostly Apoidea and Staphylinidae, Orthoptera, and various other smaller families).

Contacts

Name Jennifer Thomas
RoleAssistant Collection Manager
Emailjct@ku.edu
Name Jennifer Thomas
RoleAssistant Collection Manager
Emailjct@ku.edu
Name Michael Engel
RoleCurator in Charge
Emailmsengel@ku.edu
Name Caroline Chaboo
RoleCurator
Emailcschaboo@ku.edu
Name Andrew Short
RoleCurator
Emailaezshort@ku.edu
Name Laura Russell
RoleVertNet Programmer
Emaillarussell@ku.edu
Name Zack Falin
RoleCollection Manager
Emailksem@ku.edu
  • Data
  • Flags
  • Raw
Taxonomy
Scientific NameMonocesta
KingdomAnimalia
PhylumArthropoda
ClassInsecta
OrderColeoptera
FamilyChrysomelidae
GenusMonocesta
Specimen
Identified ByShin, Chul Woo
Date Identified2012
Catalog Number958250
PreparationsPinned - 1
Life Stageadult
Institution CodeKU
Collection CodeSEMC
Occurrence ID3ddc50fa-1ed6-11e3-bfac-90b11c41863e
Dataset NameSnow Entomological Museum Collection
Basis of RecordPreservedSpecimen
Collection Event
Collected ByBrzoska, David
Date Collected2010-07-08
Year2010
Month7
Day8
Locality
CountryMexico
State / ProvinceMichoacan
Higher GeographyMexico, Michoacan
ContinentNeotropical
LocalityUruapan, N, Hwy 37, km 5
Decimal Latitude19.8100000
Decimal Longitude-102.0233333
Maximum Elevation in Meters2119
Minimum Elevation in Meters2119
Georeference ProtocolGPS
Geodetic DatumWGS84
specimen list