× Take our 30-second survey
The U.S. National Science Foundation and iDigBio are required to collect information on use of digitized collections-based specimen data. Please help us meet this requirement every time you use this search portal. Sustainability of the national digitization effort depends on evidence of data use! Maybe later.

Specimen Record

ContinentSouth America
CountryVenezuela
State/ProvinceTrujillo
LocalityCa 9 Km E Monte Carmelo
Latitude9.2126833
Longitude-70.7327833
Institution CodeKu
Collection CodeSemc
Catalog Number929388
Collected ByShepard, William
Date Collected2009-07-22

From Recordset

http://biodiversity.ku.edu/entomology/collections

SEMC (Snow Entomological Museum Collection) comprises nearly 5 million pinned insect specimens. Our strengths are Apoidea, Neotropical Coleoptera (especially Staphylinidae, Hydrophiloidea, and Chrysomoloidea), Mecoptera, and fossil insects. We have digitized approximately 800,000 individual specimens (mostly Apoidea and Staphylinidae, Orthoptera, and various other smaller families).

Contacts

Name Jennifer Thomas
RoleAssistant Collection Manager
Emailjct@ku.edu
Name Jennifer Thomas
RoleAssistant Collection Manager
Emailjct@ku.edu
Name Michael Engel
RoleCurator in Charge
Emailmsengel@ku.edu
Name Caroline Chaboo
RoleCurator
Emailcschaboo@ku.edu
Name Andrew Short
RoleCurator
Emailaezshort@ku.edu
Name Laura Russell
RoleVertNet Programmer
Emaillarussell@ku.edu
Name Zack Falin
RoleCollection Manager
Emailksem@ku.edu
  • Data
  • Flags
  • Raw
Taxonomy
Scientific NameMacrelmis NT_sp11
KingdomAnimalia
PhylumArthropoda
ClassInsecta
OrderColeoptera
FamilyElmidae
GenusMacrelmis
Specific EpithetNT_sp11
Specimen
Identified ByMaier, Crystal
Date Identified2014
Catalog Number929388
PreparationsPinned - 1
Life Stageadult
Institution CodeKU
Collection CodeSEMC
Occurrence ID18690a6c-1ed6-11e3-bfac-90b11c41863e
Dataset NameSnow Entomological Museum Collection
Basis of RecordPreservedSpecimen
Collection Event
Collected ByShepard, William
Date Collected2009-07-22
Year2009
Month7
Day22
Locality
CountryVenezuela
State / ProvinceTrujillo
Higher GeographyVenezuela, Trujillo
ContinentNeotropical
Localityca 9 km E Monte Carmelo
Decimal Latitude9.2126833
Decimal Longitude-70.7327833
Maximum Elevation in Meters1905
Minimum Elevation in Meters1905
Georeference ProtocolGPS
Geodetic DatumWGS84
specimen list