× Take our 30-second survey
The U.S. National Science Foundation and iDigBio are required to collect information on use of digitized collections-based specimen data. Please help us meet this requirement every time you use this search portal. Sustainability of the national digitization effort depends on evidence of data use! Maybe later.

Specimen Record

ContinentArctic Ocean
CountryUnited States
State/ProvinceKansas
County/ParishAtchison
LocalityAtchison State Fishing Lake
Latitude39.63138
Longitude-95.18131
Institution CodeKu
Collection CodeSemc
Catalog Number902331
Collected ByFalin, Zachary
Date Collected2010-10-08

From Recordset

http://biodiversity.ku.edu/entomology/collections

SEMC (Snow Entomological Museum Collection) comprises nearly 5 million pinned insect specimens. Our strengths are Apoidea, Neotropical Coleoptera (especially Staphylinidae, Hydrophiloidea, and Chrysomoloidea), Mecoptera, and fossil insects. We have digitized approximately 800,000 individual specimens (mostly Apoidea and Staphylinidae, Orthoptera, and various other smaller families).

Contacts

Name Jennifer Thomas
RoleAssistant Collection Manager
Emailjct@ku.edu
Name Jennifer Thomas
RoleAssistant Collection Manager
Emailjct@ku.edu
Name Michael Engel
RoleCurator in Charge
Emailmsengel@ku.edu
Name Caroline Chaboo
RoleCurator
Emailcschaboo@ku.edu
Name Andrew Short
RoleCurator
Emailaezshort@ku.edu
Name Laura Russell
RoleVertNet Programmer
Emaillarussell@ku.edu
Name Zack Falin
RoleCollection Manager
Emailksem@ku.edu
  • Data
  • Flags
  • Raw
Taxonomy
Scientific NameMioptachys flavicauda
KingdomAnimalia
PhylumArthropoda
ClassInsecta
OrderColeoptera
FamilyCarabidae
GenusMioptachys
Specific Epithetflavicauda
Specimen
Identified ByFalin, Zachary
Date Identified2012
Catalog Number902331
PreparationsPinned - 1
Institution CodeKU
Collection CodeSEMC
Occurrence ID1e767850-1ed6-11e3-bfac-90b11c41863e
Dataset NameSnow Entomological Museum Collection
Basis of RecordPreservedSpecimen
Collection Event
Collected ByFalin, Zachary
Date Collected2010-10-08
Year2010
Month10
Day8
Locality
CountryUnited States
State / ProvinceKansas
CountyAtchison
Higher GeographyUnited States, Kansas, Atchison
ContinentNearctic
LocalityAtchison State Fishing Lake
Habitatbark, under
Decimal Latitude39.63138
Decimal Longitude-95.18131
Georeference ProtocolGPS
Geodetic DatumWGS84
specimen list