× Take our 30-second survey
The U.S. National Science Foundation and iDigBio are required to collect information on use of digitized collections-based specimen data. Please help us meet this requirement every time you use this search portal. Sustainability of the national digitization effort depends on evidence of data use! Maybe later.

Specimen Record

ContinentSouth America
CountryVenezuela
State/ProvinceAragua
LocalityHenri Pittier National Park, Rio La Trilla
Latitude10.37319
Longitude-67.7425
Institution CodeKu
Collection CodeSemc
Catalog Number844036
Collected ByMiller, Kelly
Date Collected2009-01-04

From Recordset

http://biodiversity.ku.edu/entomology/collections

SEMC (Snow Entomological Museum Collection) comprises nearly 5 million pinned insect specimens. Our strengths are Apoidea, Neotropical Coleoptera (especially Staphylinidae, Hydrophiloidea, and Chrysomoloidea), Mecoptera, and fossil insects. We have digitized approximately 800,000 individual specimens (mostly Apoidea and Staphylinidae, Orthoptera, and various other smaller families).

Contacts

Name Jennifer Thomas
RoleAssistant Collection Manager
Emailjct@ku.edu
Name Jennifer Thomas
RoleAssistant Collection Manager
Emailjct@ku.edu
Name Michael Engel
RoleCurator in Charge
Emailmsengel@ku.edu
Name Caroline Chaboo
RoleCurator
Emailcschaboo@ku.edu
Name Andrew Short
RoleCurator
Emailaezshort@ku.edu
Name Laura Russell
RoleVertNet Programmer
Emaillarussell@ku.edu
Name Zack Falin
RoleCollection Manager
Emailksem@ku.edu
  • Data
  • Flags
  • Raw
Taxonomy
Scientific NameLaccophilus
KingdomAnimalia
PhylumArthropoda
ClassInsecta
OrderColeoptera
FamilyDytiscidae
GenusLaccophilus
Specimen
Identified ByShort, Andrew
Date Identified2009
Catalog Number844036
PreparationsPinned - 1
Institution CodeKU
Collection CodeSEMC
Occurrence ID41cfa558-1ed6-11e3-bfac-90b11c41863e
Dataset NameSnow Entomological Museum Collection
Basis of RecordPreservedSpecimen
Collection Event
Collected ByMiller, Kelly
Date Collected2009-01-04
Year2009
Month1
Day4
Locality
CountryVenezuela
State / ProvinceAragua
Higher GeographyVenezuela, Aragua
ContinentNeotropical
LocalityHenri Pittier National Park, Rio La Trilla
Decimal Latitude10.37319
Decimal Longitude-67.74250
Maximum Elevation in Meters295
Minimum Elevation in Meters295
Georeference ProtocolGPS
Geodetic DatumWGS84
specimen list