× Take our 30-second survey
The U.S. National Science Foundation and iDigBio are required to collect information on use of digitized collections-based specimen data. Please help us meet this requirement every time you use this search portal. Sustainability of the national digitization effort depends on evidence of data use! Maybe later.

Specimen Record

ContinentArctic Ocean
CountryUnited States
State/ProvinceVirginia
County/ParishNorfolk
LocalityNorfolk
Latitude36.84667
Longitude-76.28556
Institution CodeKu
Collection CodeSemc
Catalog Number1197970
Collected ByMckinstry, P
Date Collected1934-08-11

From Recordset

http://biodiversity.ku.edu/entomology/collections

SEMC (Snow Entomological Museum Collection) comprises nearly 5 million pinned insect specimens. Our strengths are Apoidea, Neotropical Coleoptera (especially Staphylinidae, Hydrophiloidea, and Chrysomoloidea), Mecoptera, and fossil insects. We have digitized approximately 800,000 individual specimens (mostly Apoidea and Staphylinidae, Orthoptera, and various other smaller families).

Contacts

Name Jennifer Thomas
RoleAssistant Collection Manager
Emailjct@ku.edu
Name Jennifer Thomas
RoleAssistant Collection Manager
Emailjct@ku.edu
Name Michael Engel
RoleCurator in Charge
Emailmsengel@ku.edu
Name Caroline Chaboo
RoleCurator
Emailcschaboo@ku.edu
Name Andrew Short
RoleCurator
Emailaezshort@ku.edu
Name Laura Russell
RoleVertNet Programmer
Emaillarussell@ku.edu
Name Zack Falin
RoleCollection Manager
Emailksem@ku.edu
  • Data
  • Flags
  • Raw
Taxonomy
Scientific NameHesperocorixa lucida
KingdomAnimalia
PhylumArthropoda
ClassInsecta
OrderHemiptera
FamilyCorixidae
GenusHesperocorixa
Specific Epithetlucida
Specimen
Catalog Number1197970
PreparationsPinned - 1
Life Stageadult
SexM
Institution CodeKU
Collection CodeSEMC
Occurrence IDd6a789f6-217d-454a-99c5-1a72966dde2c
Dataset NameSnow Entomological Museum Collection
Basis of RecordPreservedSpecimen
Associated Mediahttp://biimages.biodiversity.ku.edu/static/Entomology/originals/sp6621350705919764031.att.JPG
Collection Event
Collected ByMcKinstry, P
Date Collected1934-08-11
Year1934
Month8
Day11
Locality
CountryUnited States
State / ProvinceVirginia
CountyNorfolk
Higher GeographyUnited States, Virginia, Norfolk
ContinentNearctic
LocalityNorfolk
Decimal Latitude36.84667
Decimal Longitude-76.28556
specimen list