× Take our 30-second survey
The U.S. National Science Foundation and iDigBio are required to collect information on use of digitized collections-based specimen data. Please help us meet this requirement every time you use this search portal. Sustainability of the national digitization effort depends on evidence of data use! Maybe later.

Specimen Record

ContinentSouth America
CountryGuyana
State/ProvinceRegion 9
LocalityParabara, Trail To Mines
Latitude2.0849167
Longitude-59.2362333
Institution CodeKu
Collection CodeSemc
Catalog Number1235600
Collected ByShort, Isaacs, Salisbury
Date Collected2013-11-02

From Recordset

http://biodiversity.ku.edu/entomology/collections

SEMC (Snow Entomological Museum Collection) comprises nearly 5 million pinned insect specimens. Our strengths are Apoidea, Neotropical Coleoptera (especially Staphylinidae, Hydrophiloidea, and Chrysomoloidea), Mecoptera, and fossil insects. We have digitized approximately 800,000 individual specimens (mostly Apoidea and Staphylinidae, Orthoptera, and various other smaller families).

Contacts

Name Jennifer Thomas
RoleAssistant Collection Manager
Emailjct@ku.edu
Name Jennifer Thomas
RoleAssistant Collection Manager
Emailjct@ku.edu
Name Michael Engel
RoleCurator in Charge
Emailmsengel@ku.edu
Name Caroline Chaboo
RoleCurator
Emailcschaboo@ku.edu
Name Andrew Short
RoleCurator
Emailaezshort@ku.edu
Name Laura Russell
RoleVertNet Programmer
Emaillarussell@ku.edu
Name Zack Falin
RoleCollection Manager
Emailksem@ku.edu
  • Data
  • Flags
  • Raw
Taxonomy
Scientific NameHydrobiomorpha praesumpta polita
KingdomAnimalia
PhylumArthropoda
ClassInsecta
OrderColeoptera
FamilyHydrophilidae
GenusHydrobiomorpha
Specific Epithetpraesumpta polita
Specimen
Identified ByShort, Andrew
Date Identified2014
Catalog Number1235600
PreparationsPinned - 1
Life Stageadult
Institution CodeKU
Collection CodeSEMC
Occurrence ID65691d73-7a9d-47f1-bcf5-ba647dc139e1
Dataset NameSnow Entomological Museum Collection
Basis of RecordPreservedSpecimen
Collection Event
Collected ByShort, Isaacs, Salisbury
Date Collected2013-11-02
Year2013
Month11
Day2
Locality
CountryGuyana
State / ProvinceRegion 9
Higher GeographyGuyana, Region 9
ContinentNeotropical
LocalityParabara, trail to mines
Decimal Latitude2.0849167
Decimal Longitude-59.2362333
Maximum Elevation in Meters250
Minimum Elevation in Meters250
specimen list