× Take our 30-second survey
The U.S. National Science Foundation and iDigBio are required to collect information on use of digitized collections-based specimen data. Please help us meet this requirement every time you use this search portal. Sustainability of the national digitization effort depends on evidence of data use! Maybe later.

Specimen Record

ContinentSouth America
CountryVenezuela
State/ProvinceAmazonas
LocalityS. Puerto Ayacucho, El Tobogan De La Selva
Latitude5.3867833
Longitude-67.6153667
Institution CodeKu
Collection CodeSemc
Catalog Number863642
Collected ByShort, Andrew
Date Collected2007-09-13

From Recordset

http://biodiversity.ku.edu/entomology/collections

SEMC (Snow Entomological Museum Collection) comprises nearly 5 million pinned insect specimens. Our strengths are Apoidea, Neotropical Coleoptera (especially Staphylinidae, Hydrophiloidea, and Chrysomoloidea), Mecoptera, and fossil insects. We have digitized approximately 800,000 individual specimens (mostly Apoidea and Staphylinidae, Orthoptera, and various other smaller families).

Contacts

Name Jennifer Thomas
RoleAssistant Collection Manager
Emailjct@ku.edu
Name Jennifer Thomas
RoleAssistant Collection Manager
Emailjct@ku.edu
Name Michael Engel
RoleCurator in Charge
Emailmsengel@ku.edu
Name Caroline Chaboo
RoleCurator
Emailcschaboo@ku.edu
Name Andrew Short
RoleCurator
Emailaezshort@ku.edu
Name Laura Russell
RoleVertNet Programmer
Emaillarussell@ku.edu
Name Zack Falin
RoleCollection Manager
Emailksem@ku.edu
  • Data
  • Flags
  • Raw
Taxonomy
Scientific NameTorridincolidae
KingdomAnimalia
PhylumArthropoda
ClassInsecta
OrderColeoptera
FamilyTorridincolidae
Specimen
Identified ByShort, Andrew
Date Identified2015
Catalog Number863642
PreparationsPinned - 1
Institution CodeKU
Collection CodeSEMC
Occurrence ID4178c042-1ed6-11e3-bfac-90b11c41863e
Dataset NameSnow Entomological Museum Collection
Basis of RecordPreservedSpecimen
Collection Event
Collected ByShort, Andrew
Date Collected2007-09-13
Year2007
Month9
Day13
Locality
CountryVenezuela
State / ProvinceAmazonas
Higher GeographyVenezuela, Amazonas
ContinentNeotropical
LocalityS. Puerto Ayacucho, El Tobogan de la Selva
Decimal Latitude5.3867833
Decimal Longitude-67.6153667
Maximum Elevation in Meters125
Minimum Elevation in Meters125
Georeference ProtocolGPS
Geodetic DatumWGS84
specimen list