× Take our 30-second survey
The U.S. National Science Foundation and iDigBio are required to collect information on use of digitized collections-based specimen data. Please help us meet this requirement every time you use this search portal. Sustainability of the national digitization effort depends on evidence of data use! Maybe later.

Specimen Record

ContinentNorth America
CountryMexico
State/ProvinceYucatan
LocalityChichen-itza Ruins (near Piste)
Institution CodeKu
Collection CodeSemc
Catalog Number505816
Collected ByMichener, Charles
Date Collected1987-02-15

From Recordset

http://biodiversity.ku.edu/entomology/collections

SEMC (Snow Entomological Museum Collection) comprises nearly 5 million pinned insect specimens. Our strengths are Apoidea, Neotropical Coleoptera (especially Staphylinidae, Hydrophiloidea, and Chrysomoloidea), Mecoptera, and fossil insects. We have digitized approximately 800,000 individual specimens (mostly Apoidea and Staphylinidae, Orthoptera, and various other smaller families).

Contacts

Name Jennifer Thomas
RoleAssistant Collection Manager
Emailjct@ku.edu
Name Jennifer Thomas
RoleAssistant Collection Manager
Emailjct@ku.edu
Name Michael Engel
RoleCurator in Charge
Emailmsengel@ku.edu
Name Caroline Chaboo
RoleCurator
Emailcschaboo@ku.edu
Name Andrew Short
RoleCurator
Emailaezshort@ku.edu
Name Laura Russell
RoleVertNet Programmer
Emaillarussell@ku.edu
Name Zack Falin
RoleCollection Manager
Emailksem@ku.edu
  • Data
  • Flags
  • Raw
Taxonomy
Scientific NameScaptotrigona pectoralis
KingdomAnimalia
PhylumArthropoda
ClassInsecta
OrderHymenoptera
FamilyApidae
GenusScaptotrigona
Specific Epithetpectoralis
Specimen
Identified Byunknown
Catalog Number505816
PreparationsPinned - 1
Life Stageadult
Sexunknown
Institution CodeKU
Collection CodeSEMC
Occurrence ID39cdbb69-1ed6-11e3-bfac-90b11c41863e
Dataset NameSnow Entomological Museum Collection
Basis of RecordPreservedSpecimen
Associated Mediahttp://biimages.biodiversity.ku.edu/static/Entomology/originals/sp63087459701708839765.att.JPG
Collection Event
Collected ByMichener, Charles
Date Collected1987-02-15
Year1987
Month2
Day15
Locality
CountryMexico
State / ProvinceYucatan
Higher GeographyMexico, Yucatan
ContinentNeotropical
LocalityChichen-Itza ruins (near piste)
specimen list