× Take our 30-second survey
The U.S. National Science Foundation and iDigBio are required to collect information on use of digitized collections-based specimen data. Please help us meet this requirement every time you use this search portal. Sustainability of the national digitization effort depends on evidence of data use! Maybe later.

Specimen Record

ContinentSouth America
CountryVenezuela
State/ProvinceBolivar
LocalityCaicara Between Los Pijiguaos
Latitude7.3498667
Longitude-66.2984
Institution CodeKu
Collection CodeSemc
Catalog Number855891
Collected ByShort, Garcia, Miller
Date Collected2009-01-11

From Recordset

http://biodiversity.ku.edu/entomology/collections

SEMC (Snow Entomological Museum Collection) comprises nearly 5 million pinned insect specimens. Our strengths are Apoidea, Neotropical Coleoptera (especially Staphylinidae, Hydrophiloidea, and Chrysomoloidea), Mecoptera, and fossil insects. We have digitized approximately 800,000 individual specimens (mostly Apoidea and Staphylinidae, Orthoptera, and various other smaller families).

Contacts

Name Jennifer Thomas
RoleAssistant Collection Manager
Emailjct@ku.edu
Name Jennifer Thomas
RoleAssistant Collection Manager
Emailjct@ku.edu
Name Michael Engel
RoleCurator in Charge
Emailmsengel@ku.edu
Name Caroline Chaboo
RoleCurator
Emailcschaboo@ku.edu
Name Andrew Short
RoleCurator
Emailaezshort@ku.edu
Name Laura Russell
RoleVertNet Programmer
Emaillarussell@ku.edu
Name Zack Falin
RoleCollection Manager
Emailksem@ku.edu
  • Data
  • Flags
  • Raw
Taxonomy
Scientific NameThermonectus succinctus
KingdomAnimalia
PhylumArthropoda
ClassInsecta
OrderColeoptera
FamilyDytiscidae
GenusThermonectus
Specific Epithetsuccinctus
Specimen
Identified ByMiller, Kelly
Date Identified2009
Catalog Number855891
PreparationsPinned - 1
Institution CodeKU
Collection CodeSEMC
Occurrence ID1845610f-1ed6-11e3-bfac-90b11c41863e
Dataset NameSnow Entomological Museum Collection
Basis of RecordPreservedSpecimen
Collection Event
Collected ByShort, Garcia, Miller
Date Collected2009-01-11
Year2009
Month1
Day11
Locality
CountryVenezuela
State / ProvinceBolivar
Higher GeographyVenezuela, Bolivar
ContinentNeotropical
LocalityCaicara between Los Pijiguaos
Decimal Latitude7.3498667
Decimal Longitude-66.2984000
Maximum Elevation in Meters62
Minimum Elevation in Meters62
Georeference ProtocolGPS
Geodetic DatumWGS84
specimen list