× Take our 30-second survey
The U.S. National Science Foundation and iDigBio are required to collect information on use of digitized collections-based specimen data. Please help us meet this requirement every time you use this search portal. Sustainability of the national digitization effort depends on evidence of data use! Maybe later.

Specimen Record

ContinentNorth America
CountryCosta Rica
State/ProvinceAlajuela
LocalitySan Ramon Biologica Reserva
Latitude10.2169444
Longitude-84.5961111
Institution CodeKu
Collection CodeSemc
Catalog Number457580
Collected ByHanson, Paul
Date Collected1999-10-31

From Recordset

http://biodiversity.ku.edu/entomology/collections

SEMC (Snow Entomological Museum Collection) comprises nearly 5 million pinned insect specimens. Our strengths are Apoidea, Neotropical Coleoptera (especially Staphylinidae, Hydrophiloidea, and Chrysomoloidea), Mecoptera, and fossil insects. We have digitized approximately 800,000 individual specimens (mostly Apoidea and Staphylinidae, Orthoptera, and various other smaller families).

Contacts

Name Jennifer Thomas
RoleAssistant Collection Manager
Emailjct@ku.edu
Name Jennifer Thomas
RoleAssistant Collection Manager
Emailjct@ku.edu
Name Michael Engel
RoleCurator in Charge
Emailmsengel@ku.edu
Name Caroline Chaboo
RoleCurator
Emailcschaboo@ku.edu
Name Andrew Short
RoleCurator
Emailaezshort@ku.edu
Name Laura Russell
RoleVertNet Programmer
Emaillarussell@ku.edu
Name Zack Falin
RoleCollection Manager
Emailksem@ku.edu
  • Data
  • Flags
  • Raw
Taxonomy
Scientific NameXanthopygina
KingdomAnimalia
PhylumArthropoda
ClassInsecta
OrderColeoptera
FamilyStaphylinidae
Specimen
Identified ByAshe, James
Date Identified2004
Catalog Number457580
PreparationsPinned - 1
Life Stageadult
Institution CodeKU
Collection CodeSEMC
Occurrence ID17eb9be6-1ed6-11e3-bfac-90b11c41863e
Dataset NameSnow Entomological Museum Collection
Basis of RecordPreservedSpecimen
Collection Event
Collected ByHanson, Paul
Date Collected1999-10-31
Year1999
Month11
Locality
CountryCosta Rica
State / ProvinceAlajuela
Higher GeographyCosta Rica, Alajuela
ContinentNeotropical
LocalitySan Ramon Biologica Reserva
Decimal Latitude10.2169444
Decimal Longitude-84.5961111
Maximum Elevation in Meters900
Minimum Elevation in Meters900
specimen list