× Take our 30-second survey
The U.S. National Science Foundation and iDigBio are required to collect information on use of digitized collections-based specimen data. Please help us meet this requirement every time you use this search portal. Sustainability of the national digitization effort depends on evidence of data use! Maybe later.

Specimen Record

ContinentNorth America
CountryMexico
State/ProvinceChiapas
County/ParishVilla Corso
LocalityEjido Sierra Morena, Reserva Biosfera La Sepultura
Latitude16.1527778
Longitude-93.5902778
Institution CodeKu
Collection CodeSemc
Catalog Number519467
Collected ByAnderson, Robert
Date Collected2003-07-17

From Recordset

http://biodiversity.ku.edu/entomology/collections

SEMC (Snow Entomological Museum Collection) comprises nearly 5 million pinned insect specimens. Our strengths are Apoidea, Neotropical Coleoptera (especially Staphylinidae, Hydrophiloidea, and Chrysomoloidea), Mecoptera, and fossil insects. We have digitized approximately 800,000 individual specimens (mostly Apoidea and Staphylinidae, Orthoptera, and various other smaller families).

Contacts

Name Jennifer Thomas
RoleAssistant Collection Manager
Emailjct@ku.edu
Name Jennifer Thomas
RoleAssistant Collection Manager
Emailjct@ku.edu
Name Michael Engel
RoleCurator in Charge
Emailmsengel@ku.edu
Name Caroline Chaboo
RoleCurator
Emailcschaboo@ku.edu
Name Andrew Short
RoleCurator
Emailaezshort@ku.edu
Name Laura Russell
RoleVertNet Programmer
Emaillarussell@ku.edu
Name Zack Falin
RoleCollection Manager
Emailksem@ku.edu
  • Data
  • Flags
  • Raw
Taxonomy
Scientific NameCryptophagidae
KingdomAnimalia
PhylumArthropoda
ClassInsecta
OrderColeoptera
FamilyCryptophagidae
Specimen
Identified ByFalin, Zachary
Date Identified2004
Catalog Number519467
PreparationsPinned - 1
Life Stageadult
Institution CodeKU
Collection CodeSEMC
Occurrence ID1d35cf6b-1ed6-11e3-bfac-90b11c41863e
Dataset NameSnow Entomological Museum Collection
Basis of RecordPreservedSpecimen
Collection Event
Collected ByAnderson, Robert
Date Collected2003-07-17
Year2003
Month7
Day17
Locality
CountryMexico
State / ProvinceChiapas
CountyVilla Corso
Higher GeographyMexico, Chiapas, Villa Corso
ContinentNeotropical
LocalityEjido Sierra Morena, Reserva Biosfera La Sepultura
Decimal Latitude16.1527778
Decimal Longitude-93.5902778
Maximum Elevation in Meters1550
Minimum Elevation in Meters1550
specimen list