× Take our 30-second survey
The U.S. National Science Foundation and iDigBio are required to collect information on use of digitized collections-based specimen data. Please help us meet this requirement every time you use this search portal. Sustainability of the national digitization effort depends on evidence of data use! Maybe later.

Specimen Record

ContinentArctic Ocean
CountryUnited States
State/ProvinceKansas
County/ParishJohnson
LocalityDe Soto
Latitude38.97917
Longitude-94.96833
Institution CodeKu
Collection CodeSemc
Catalog Number1249346
Collected ByLaberge, Walley
Date Collected1954-08-05

From Recordset

http://biodiversity.ku.edu/entomology/collections

SEMC (Snow Entomological Museum Collection) comprises nearly 5 million pinned insect specimens. Our strengths are Apoidea, Neotropical Coleoptera (especially Staphylinidae, Hydrophiloidea, and Chrysomoloidea), Mecoptera, and fossil insects. We have digitized approximately 800,000 individual specimens (mostly Apoidea and Staphylinidae, Orthoptera, and various other smaller families).

Contacts

Name Jennifer Thomas
RoleAssistant Collection Manager
Emailjct@ku.edu
Name Jennifer Thomas
RoleAssistant Collection Manager
Emailjct@ku.edu
Name Michael Engel
RoleCurator in Charge
Emailmsengel@ku.edu
Name Caroline Chaboo
RoleCurator
Emailcschaboo@ku.edu
Name Andrew Short
RoleCurator
Emailaezshort@ku.edu
Name Laura Russell
RoleVertNet Programmer
Emaillarussell@ku.edu
Name Zack Falin
RoleCollection Manager
Emailksem@ku.edu
  • Data
  • Flags
  • Raw
Taxonomy
Scientific NameTriepeolus lunatus
KingdomAnimalia
PhylumArthropoda
ClassInsecta
OrderHymenoptera
FamilyApidae
GenusTriepeolus
Specific Epithetlunatus
Specimen
Catalog Number1249346
PreparationsPinned - 1
Life Stageadult
Institution CodeKU
Collection CodeSEMC
Occurrence IDcd643f62-dd0a-4b46-8289-15f8001768ae
Dataset NameSnow Entomological Museum Collection
Basis of RecordPreservedSpecimen
Associated Mediahttp://biimages.biodiversity.ku.edu/static/Entomology/originals/sp62697251822675648902.att.JPG
Associated TaxaVernonia baldwinii interior
Collection Event
Collected ByLaBerge, Walley
Date Collected1954-08-05
Year1954
Month8
Day5
Locality
CountryUnited States
State / ProvinceKansas
CountyJohnson
Higher GeographyUnited States, Kansas, Johnson
ContinentNearctic
LocalityDe Soto
Decimal Latitude38.97917
Decimal Longitude-94.96833
specimen list