× Take our 30-second survey
The U.S. National Science Foundation and iDigBio are required to collect information on use of digitized collections-based specimen data. Please help us meet this requirement every time you use this search portal. Sustainability of the national digitization effort depends on evidence of data use! Maybe later.

Specimen Record

LocalityS Samariapo, River Crossing Road Near Confluence Of Orinoco And Sipapo Rivers
Latitude5.0617833
Longitude-67.7794667
Institution CodeKu
Collection CodeSemc
Catalog Number876736
Collected ByShort, Andrew
Date Collected2009-01-15

From Recordset

http://biodiversity.ku.edu/entomology/collections

SEMC (Snow Entomological Museum Collection) comprises nearly 5 million pinned insect specimens. Our strengths are Apoidea, Neotropical Coleoptera (especially Staphylinidae, Hydrophiloidea, and Chrysomoloidea), Mecoptera, and fossil insects. We have digitized approximately 800,000 individual specimens (mostly Apoidea and Staphylinidae, Orthoptera, and various other smaller families).

Contacts

Name Jennifer Thomas
RoleAssistant Collection Manager
Emailjct@ku.edu
Name Jennifer Thomas
RoleAssistant Collection Manager
Emailjct@ku.edu
Name Michael Engel
RoleCurator in Charge
Emailmsengel@ku.edu
Name Caroline Chaboo
RoleCurator
Emailcschaboo@ku.edu
Name Andrew Short
RoleCurator
Emailaezshort@ku.edu
Name Laura Russell
RoleVertNet Programmer
Emaillarussell@ku.edu
Name Zack Falin
RoleCollection Manager
Emailksem@ku.edu
  • Data
  • Flags
  • Raw
Taxonomy
Scientific NameYara maculata
KingdomAnimalia
PhylumArthropoda
ClassInsecta
OrderColeoptera
FamilyHydroscaphidae
GenusYara
Specific Epithetmaculata
Specimen
Type StatusParatype
Identified ByShort, Andrew
Date Identified2010
Catalog Number876736
PreparationsPinned - 1
Institution CodeKU
Collection CodeSEMC
Occurrence ID199d1124-1ed6-11e3-bfac-90b11c41863e
Dataset NameSnow Entomological Museum Collection
Basis of RecordPreservedSpecimen
Collection Event
Collected ByShort, Andrew
Date Collected2009-01-15
Year2009
Month1
Day15
Locality
LocalityS Samariapo, river crossing road near confluence of Orinoco and Sipapo rivers
Decimal Latitude5.0617833
Decimal Longitude-67.7794667
Maximum Elevation in Meters92
Minimum Elevation in Meters92
Georeference ProtocolGPS
Geodetic DatumWGS84
specimen list