× Take our 30-second survey
The U.S. National Science Foundation and iDigBio are required to collect information on use of digitized collections-based specimen data. Please help us meet this requirement every time you use this search portal. Sustainability of the national digitization effort depends on evidence of data use! Maybe later.

Specimen Record

ContinentAustralia
CountryAustralia
State/ProvinceQueensland
LocalityDevelopmental Rd, Lake Mitchell, Mareeba, 30 Km Nw
Latitude-16.79165
Longitude145.3524
Institution CodeKu
Collection CodeSemc
Catalog Number1024376
Collected ByHendrich & Hendrich
Date Collected2006-09-12

From Recordset

http://biodiversity.ku.edu/entomology/collections

SEMC (Snow Entomological Museum Collection) comprises nearly 5 million pinned insect specimens. Our strengths are Apoidea, Neotropical Coleoptera (especially Staphylinidae, Hydrophiloidea, and Chrysomoloidea), Mecoptera, and fossil insects. We have digitized approximately 800,000 individual specimens (mostly Apoidea and Staphylinidae, Orthoptera, and various other smaller families).

Contacts

Name Jennifer Thomas
RoleAssistant Collection Manager
Emailjct@ku.edu
Name Jennifer Thomas
RoleAssistant Collection Manager
Emailjct@ku.edu
Name Michael Engel
RoleCurator in Charge
Emailmsengel@ku.edu
Name Caroline Chaboo
RoleCurator
Emailcschaboo@ku.edu
Name Andrew Short
RoleCurator
Emailaezshort@ku.edu
Name Laura Russell
RoleVertNet Programmer
Emaillarussell@ku.edu
Name Zack Falin
RoleCollection Manager
Emailksem@ku.edu
  • Data
  • Flags
  • Raw
Taxonomy
Scientific NameAmphiops
KingdomAnimalia
PhylumArthropoda
ClassInsecta
OrderColeoptera
FamilyHydrophilidae
GenusAmphiops
Specimen
Identified ByShort, Andrew
Date Identified2012
Catalog Number1024376
PreparationsPinned - 1
Life Stageadult
Institution CodeKU
Collection CodeSEMC
Occurrence ID43fd12cf-1ed6-11e3-bfac-90b11c41863e
Dataset NameSnow Entomological Museum Collection
Basis of RecordPreservedSpecimen
Collection Event
Collected ByHendrich & Hendrich
Date Collected2006-09-12
Year2006
Month9
Day12
Locality
CountryAustralia
State / ProvinceQueensland
Higher GeographyAustralia, Queensland
ContinentAustralian
LocalityDevelopmental Rd, Lake Mitchell, Mareeba, 30 km NW
Decimal Latitude-16.7916500
Decimal Longitude145.3524000
Maximum Elevation in Meters381
Minimum Elevation in Meters381
specimen list