× Take our 30-second survey
The U.S. National Science Foundation and iDigBio are required to collect information on use of digitized collections-based specimen data. Please help us meet this requirement every time you use this search portal. Sustainability of the national digitization effort depends on evidence of data use! Maybe later.

Specimen Record

ContinentArctic Ocean
CountryUnited States
State/ProvinceWashington
County/ParishYakima
LocalityToppenish
Institution CodeKu
Collection CodeSemc
Catalog Number1170862
Collected ByBeamer, John
Date Collected1935-07-09

From Recordset

http://biodiversity.ku.edu/entomology/collections

SEMC (Snow Entomological Museum Collection) comprises nearly 5 million pinned insect specimens. Our strengths are Apoidea, Neotropical Coleoptera (especially Staphylinidae, Hydrophiloidea, and Chrysomoloidea), Mecoptera, and fossil insects. We have digitized approximately 800,000 individual specimens (mostly Apoidea and Staphylinidae, Orthoptera, and various other smaller families).

Contacts

Name Jennifer Thomas
RoleAssistant Collection Manager
Emailjct@ku.edu
Name Jennifer Thomas
RoleAssistant Collection Manager
Emailjct@ku.edu
Name Michael Engel
RoleCurator in Charge
Emailmsengel@ku.edu
Name Caroline Chaboo
RoleCurator
Emailcschaboo@ku.edu
Name Andrew Short
RoleCurator
Emailaezshort@ku.edu
Name Laura Russell
RoleVertNet Programmer
Emaillarussell@ku.edu
Name Zack Falin
RoleCollection Manager
Emailksem@ku.edu
  • Data
  • Flags
  • Raw
Taxonomy
Scientific NameSigara washingtonensis
KingdomAnimalia
PhylumArthropoda
ClassInsecta
OrderHemiptera
FamilyCorixidae
GenusSigara
Specific Epithetwashingtonensis
Specimen
Catalog Number1170862
PreparationsPinned
Life Stageadult
SexM
Institution CodeKU
Collection CodeSEMC
Occurrence ID11daa851-a517-4e1d-98dc-d927f45e3956
Dataset NameSnow Entomological Museum Collection
Basis of RecordPreservedSpecimen
Associated Mediahttp://biimages.biodiversity.ku.edu/static/Entomology/originals/sp6415328735521667270.att.JPG
Collection Event
Collected ByBeamer, John
Date Collected1935-07-09
Year1935
Month7
Day9
Locality
CountryUnited States
State / ProvinceWashington
CountyYakima
Higher GeographyUnited States, Washington, Yakima
ContinentNearctic
LocalityToppenish
specimen list