× Take our 30-second survey
The U.S. National Science Foundation and iDigBio are required to collect information on use of digitized collections-based specimen data. Please help us meet this requirement every time you use this search portal. Sustainability of the national digitization effort depends on evidence of data use! Maybe later.

Specimen Record

ContinentArctic Ocean
CountryUnited States
State/ProvinceKansas
County/ParishStafford
LocalityQuivira National Wildlife Refuge
Latitude39.97722
Longitude-95.56167
Institution CodeKu
Collection CodeSemc
Catalog Number808195
Collected ByPowell, Ken
Date Collected1992-08-05

From Recordset

http://biodiversity.ku.edu/entomology/collections

SEMC (Snow Entomological Museum Collection) comprises nearly 5 million pinned insect specimens. Our strengths are Apoidea, Neotropical Coleoptera (especially Staphylinidae, Hydrophiloidea, and Chrysomoloidea), Mecoptera, and fossil insects. We have digitized approximately 800,000 individual specimens (mostly Apoidea and Staphylinidae, Orthoptera, and various other smaller families).

Contacts

Name Jennifer Thomas
RoleAssistant Collection Manager
Emailjct@ku.edu
Name Jennifer Thomas
RoleAssistant Collection Manager
Emailjct@ku.edu
Name Michael Engel
RoleCurator in Charge
Emailmsengel@ku.edu
Name Caroline Chaboo
RoleCurator
Emailcschaboo@ku.edu
Name Andrew Short
RoleCurator
Emailaezshort@ku.edu
Name Laura Russell
RoleVertNet Programmer
Emaillarussell@ku.edu
Name Zack Falin
RoleCollection Manager
Emailksem@ku.edu
  • Data
  • Flags
  • Raw
Taxonomy
Scientific NameNicrophorus carolinus
KingdomAnimalia
PhylumArthropoda
ClassInsecta
OrderColeoptera
FamilySilphidae
GenusNicrophorus
Specific Epithetcarolinus
Specimen
Identified Byunknown
Catalog Number808195
PreparationsPinned - 1
Institution CodeKU
Collection CodeSEMC
Occurrence ID3993f24b-1ed6-11e3-bfac-90b11c41863e
Dataset NameSnow Entomological Museum Collection
Basis of RecordPreservedSpecimen
Collection Event
Collected ByPowell, Ken
Date Collected1992-08-05
Year1992
Month8
Day5
Locality
CountryUnited States
State / ProvinceKansas
CountyStafford
Higher GeographyUnited States, Kansas, Stafford
ContinentNearctic
LocalityQuivira National Wildlife Refuge
Decimal Latitude39.97722
Decimal Longitude-95.56167
specimen list