× Take our 30-second survey
The U.S. National Science Foundation and iDigBio are required to collect information on use of digitized collections-based specimen data. Please help us meet this requirement every time you use this search portal. Sustainability of the national digitization effort depends on evidence of data use! Maybe later.

Specimen Record

ContinentSouth America
CountryBolivia
State/ProvinceLa Paz
LocalitySw Yanacachi, 6 Km N
Latitude-16.4326667
Longitude-67.7843333
Institution CodeKu
Collection CodeSemc
Catalog Number455274
Collected ByAnderson, Robert
Date Collected2001-01-23

From Recordset

http://biodiversity.ku.edu/entomology/collections

SEMC (Snow Entomological Museum Collection) comprises nearly 5 million pinned insect specimens. Our strengths are Apoidea, Neotropical Coleoptera (especially Staphylinidae, Hydrophiloidea, and Chrysomoloidea), Mecoptera, and fossil insects. We have digitized approximately 800,000 individual specimens (mostly Apoidea and Staphylinidae, Orthoptera, and various other smaller families).

Contacts

Name Jennifer Thomas
RoleAssistant Collection Manager
Emailjct@ku.edu
Name Jennifer Thomas
RoleAssistant Collection Manager
Emailjct@ku.edu
Name Michael Engel
RoleCurator in Charge
Emailmsengel@ku.edu
Name Caroline Chaboo
RoleCurator
Emailcschaboo@ku.edu
Name Andrew Short
RoleCurator
Emailaezshort@ku.edu
Name Laura Russell
RoleVertNet Programmer
Emaillarussell@ku.edu
Name Zack Falin
RoleCollection Manager
Emailksem@ku.edu
  • Data
  • Flags
  • Raw
Taxonomy
Scientific NamePhilonthus
KingdomAnimalia
PhylumArthropoda
ClassInsecta
OrderColeoptera
FamilyStaphylinidae
GenusPhilonthus
Specimen
Identified ByAshe, James
Date Identified2004
Catalog Number455274
PreparationsPinned - 1
Life Stageadult
Institution CodeKU
Collection CodeSEMC
Occurrence ID18900eb5-1ed6-11e3-bfac-90b11c41863e
Dataset NameSnow Entomological Museum Collection
Basis of RecordPreservedSpecimen
Collection Event
Collected ByAnderson, Robert
Date Collected2001-01-23
Year2001
Month1
Day23
Locality
CountryBolivia
State / ProvinceLa Paz
Higher GeographyBolivia, La Paz
ContinentNeotropical
LocalitySW Yanacachi, 6 km N
Decimal Latitude-16.4326667
Decimal Longitude-67.7843333
Maximum Elevation in Meters2550
Minimum Elevation in Meters2550
Georeference ProtocolGPS
specimen list