× Take our 30-second survey
The U.S. National Science Foundation and iDigBio are required to collect information on use of digitized collections-based specimen data. Please help us meet this requirement every time you use this search portal. Sustainability of the national digitization effort depends on evidence of data use! Maybe later.

Specimen Record

ContinentArctic Ocean
CountryUnited States
State/ProvinceKansas
County/ParishCherokee
LocalityGalena, 2 Mi S
Latitude37.044
Longitude-94.6363
Institution CodeKu
Collection CodeSemc
Catalog Number793879
Collected BySalsbury, Glenn
Date Collected2008-05-28

From Recordset

http://biodiversity.ku.edu/entomology/collections

SEMC (Snow Entomological Museum Collection) comprises nearly 5 million pinned insect specimens. Our strengths are Apoidea, Neotropical Coleoptera (especially Staphylinidae, Hydrophiloidea, and Chrysomoloidea), Mecoptera, and fossil insects. We have digitized approximately 800,000 individual specimens (mostly Apoidea and Staphylinidae, Orthoptera, and various other smaller families).

Contacts

Name Jennifer Thomas
RoleAssistant Collection Manager
Emailjct@ku.edu
Name Jennifer Thomas
RoleAssistant Collection Manager
Emailjct@ku.edu
Name Michael Engel
RoleCurator in Charge
Emailmsengel@ku.edu
Name Caroline Chaboo
RoleCurator
Emailcschaboo@ku.edu
Name Andrew Short
RoleCurator
Emailaezshort@ku.edu
Name Laura Russell
RoleVertNet Programmer
Emaillarussell@ku.edu
Name Zack Falin
RoleCollection Manager
Emailksem@ku.edu
  • Data
  • Flags
  • Raw
Taxonomy
Scientific NameLucidota
KingdomAnimalia
PhylumArthropoda
ClassInsecta
OrderColeoptera
FamilyLampyridae
GenusLucidota
Specimen
Identified ByBuschman, Lawrent
Date Identified2013
Catalog Number793879
PreparationsPinned - 1
Institution CodeKU
Collection CodeSEMC
Occurrence ID252d404c-1ed6-11e3-bfac-90b11c41863e
Dataset NameSnow Entomological Museum Collection
Basis of RecordPreservedSpecimen
Collection Event
Collected BySalsbury, Glenn
Date Collected2008-05-28
Year2008
Month5
Day28
Locality
CountryUnited States
State / ProvinceKansas
CountyCherokee
Higher GeographyUnited States, Kansas, Cherokee
ContinentNearctic
LocalityGalena, 2 mi S
Decimal Latitude37.0440
Decimal Longitude-94.6363
Georeference ProtocolGPS
Georeference RemarksCoordinates confirmed 5/4/05 by ZHFalin
specimen list