× Take our 30-second survey
The U.S. National Science Foundation and iDigBio are required to collect information on use of digitized collections-based specimen data. Please help us meet this requirement every time you use this search portal. Sustainability of the national digitization effort depends on evidence of data use! Maybe later.

Specimen Record

ContinentNorth America
CountryMexico
State/ProvinceQueretaro
County/ParishPinal De Amoles
LocalitySan Pedro Escanela
Latitude21.1216167
Longitude-99.5246333
Institution CodeKu
Collection CodeSemc
Catalog Number780390
Collected ByAnderson, Robert
Date Collected2006-07-29

From Recordset

http://biodiversity.ku.edu/entomology/collections

SEMC (Snow Entomological Museum Collection) comprises nearly 5 million pinned insect specimens. Our strengths are Apoidea, Neotropical Coleoptera (especially Staphylinidae, Hydrophiloidea, and Chrysomoloidea), Mecoptera, and fossil insects. We have digitized approximately 800,000 individual specimens (mostly Apoidea and Staphylinidae, Orthoptera, and various other smaller families).

Contacts

Name Jennifer Thomas
RoleAssistant Collection Manager
Emailjct@ku.edu
Name Jennifer Thomas
RoleAssistant Collection Manager
Emailjct@ku.edu
Name Michael Engel
RoleCurator in Charge
Emailmsengel@ku.edu
Name Caroline Chaboo
RoleCurator
Emailcschaboo@ku.edu
Name Andrew Short
RoleCurator
Emailaezshort@ku.edu
Name Laura Russell
RoleVertNet Programmer
Emaillarussell@ku.edu
Name Zack Falin
RoleCollection Manager
Emailksem@ku.edu
  • Data
  • Flags
  • Raw
Taxonomy
Scientific NameAleocharinae
KingdomAnimalia
PhylumArthropoda
ClassInsecta
OrderColeoptera
FamilyStaphylinidae
Specimen
Identified ByFalin, Zachary
Date Identified2011
Catalog Number780390
PreparationsPinned - 1
Institution CodeKU
Collection CodeSEMC
Occurrence ID214e1e2b-1ed6-11e3-bfac-90b11c41863e
Dataset NameSnow Entomological Museum Collection
Basis of RecordPreservedSpecimen
Collection Event
Collected ByAnderson, Robert
Date Collected2006-07-29
Year2006
Month7
Day29
Locality
CountryMexico
State / ProvinceQueretaro
CountyPinal de Amoles
Higher GeographyMexico, Queretaro, Pinal de Amoles
ContinentNeotropical
LocalitySan Pedro Escanela
Habitatleaf/forest litter
Decimal Latitude21.1216167
Decimal Longitude-99.5246333
Maximum Elevation in Meters1620
Minimum Elevation in Meters1620
Georeference ProtocolGPS
specimen list