× Take our 30-second survey
The U.S. National Science Foundation and iDigBio are required to collect information on use of digitized collections-based specimen data. Please help us meet this requirement every time you use this search portal. Sustainability of the national digitization effort depends on evidence of data use! Maybe later.

Specimen Record

ContinentSouth America
CountrySuriname
State/ProvinceMarowijne
LocalityEast-west Highway, 12 Km W. Moengo
Latitude5.60385
Longitude-54.5089333
Institution CodeKu
Collection CodeSemc
Catalog Number1086716
Collected ByShort & Kadosoe
Date Collected2012-03-04

From Recordset

http://biodiversity.ku.edu/entomology/collections

SEMC (Snow Entomological Museum Collection) comprises nearly 5 million pinned insect specimens. Our strengths are Apoidea, Neotropical Coleoptera (especially Staphylinidae, Hydrophiloidea, and Chrysomoloidea), Mecoptera, and fossil insects. We have digitized approximately 800,000 individual specimens (mostly Apoidea and Staphylinidae, Orthoptera, and various other smaller families).

Contacts

Name Jennifer Thomas
RoleAssistant Collection Manager
Emailjct@ku.edu
Name Jennifer Thomas
RoleAssistant Collection Manager
Emailjct@ku.edu
Name Michael Engel
RoleCurator in Charge
Emailmsengel@ku.edu
Name Caroline Chaboo
RoleCurator
Emailcschaboo@ku.edu
Name Andrew Short
RoleCurator
Emailaezshort@ku.edu
Name Laura Russell
RoleVertNet Programmer
Emaillarussell@ku.edu
Name Zack Falin
RoleCollection Manager
Emailksem@ku.edu
  • Data
  • Flags
  • Raw
Taxonomy
Scientific NameDerallus NT_sp3
KingdomAnimalia
PhylumArthropoda
ClassInsecta
OrderColeoptera
FamilyHydrophilidae
GenusDerallus
Specific EpithetNT_sp3
Specimen
Identified ByShort, Andrew
Date Identified2012
Catalog Number1086716
PreparationsPinned - 1
Life Stageadult
Institution CodeKU
Collection CodeSEMC
Occurrence ID475286aa-1ed6-11e3-bfac-90b11c41863e
Dataset NameSnow Entomological Museum Collection
Basis of RecordPreservedSpecimen
Collection Event
Collected ByShort & Kadosoe
Date Collected2012-03-04
Year2012
Month3
Day4
Locality
CountrySuriname
State / ProvinceMarowijne
Higher GeographySuriname, Marowijne
ContinentNeotropical
LocalityEast-West Highway, 12 km W. Moengo
Decimal Latitude5.6038500
Decimal Longitude-54.5089333
Maximum Elevation in Meters32
Minimum Elevation in Meters32
Georeference ProtocolGPS
Geodetic DatumWGS84
specimen list