× Take our 30-second survey
The U.S. National Science Foundation and iDigBio are required to collect information on use of digitized collections-based specimen data. Please help us meet this requirement every time you use this search portal. Sustainability of the national digitization effort depends on evidence of data use! Maybe later.

Specimen Record

ContinentArctic Ocean
CountryUnited States
State/ProvinceMontana
County/ParishJefferson
LocalityWhitehall
Latitude45.8708
Longitude-112.0967
Institution CodeKu
Collection CodeSemc
Catalog Number1279047
Collected ByAnderson, Lauren
Date Collected1931-08-13

From Recordset

http://biodiversity.ku.edu/entomology/collections

SEMC (Snow Entomological Museum Collection) comprises nearly 5 million pinned insect specimens. Our strengths are Apoidea, Neotropical Coleoptera (especially Staphylinidae, Hydrophiloidea, and Chrysomoloidea), Mecoptera, and fossil insects. We have digitized approximately 800,000 individual specimens (mostly Apoidea and Staphylinidae, Orthoptera, and various other smaller families).

Contacts

Name Jennifer Thomas
RoleAssistant Collection Manager
Emailjct@ku.edu
Name Jennifer Thomas
RoleAssistant Collection Manager
Emailjct@ku.edu
Name Michael Engel
RoleCurator in Charge
Emailmsengel@ku.edu
Name Caroline Chaboo
RoleCurator
Emailcschaboo@ku.edu
Name Andrew Short
RoleCurator
Emailaezshort@ku.edu
Name Laura Russell
RoleVertNet Programmer
Emaillarussell@ku.edu
Name Zack Falin
RoleCollection Manager
Emailksem@ku.edu
  • Data
  • Flags
  • Raw
Taxonomy
Scientific NameNotonecta spinosa
KingdomAnimalia
PhylumArthropoda
ClassInsecta
OrderHemiptera
FamilyNotonectidae
GenusNotonecta
Specific Epithetspinosa
Specimen
Catalog Number1279047
PreparationsPinned - 1
Life Stageadult
Institution CodeKU
Collection CodeSEMC
Occurrence ID290b13fd-7ab1-4297-bb4a-88d90e8c9f41
Dataset NameSnow Entomological Museum Collection
Basis of RecordPreservedSpecimen
Associated Mediahttp://biimages.biodiversity.ku.edu/static/Entomology/originals/sp66102660468103644565.att.JPG
Collection Event
Collected ByAnderson, Lauren
Date Collected1931-08-13
Year1931
Month8
Day13
Locality
CountryUnited States
State / ProvinceMontana
CountyJefferson
Higher GeographyUnited States, Montana, Jefferson
ContinentNearctic
LocalityWhitehall
Decimal Latitude45.8708
Decimal Longitude-112.0967
specimen list