× Take our 30-second survey
The U.S. National Science Foundation and iDigBio are required to collect information on use of digitized collections-based specimen data. Please help us meet this requirement every time you use this search portal. Sustainability of the national digitization effort depends on evidence of data use! Maybe later.

Specimen Record

ContinentNorth America
CountryCanada
State/ProvinceSaskatchewan
LocalitySwift Current
Latitude50.2833
Longitude-107.7667
Institution CodeKu
Collection CodeSemc
Catalog Number284472
Collected ByMichener, Charles
Date Collected1971-08-01

From Recordset

http://biodiversity.ku.edu/entomology/collections

SEMC (Snow Entomological Museum Collection) comprises nearly 5 million pinned insect specimens. Our strengths are Apoidea, Neotropical Coleoptera (especially Staphylinidae, Hydrophiloidea, and Chrysomoloidea), Mecoptera, and fossil insects. We have digitized approximately 800,000 individual specimens (mostly Apoidea and Staphylinidae, Orthoptera, and various other smaller families).

Contacts

Name Jennifer Thomas
RoleAssistant Collection Manager
Emailjct@ku.edu
Name Jennifer Thomas
RoleAssistant Collection Manager
Emailjct@ku.edu
Name Michael Engel
RoleCurator in Charge
Emailmsengel@ku.edu
Name Caroline Chaboo
RoleCurator
Emailcschaboo@ku.edu
Name Andrew Short
RoleCurator
Emailaezshort@ku.edu
Name Laura Russell
RoleVertNet Programmer
Emaillarussell@ku.edu
Name Zack Falin
RoleCollection Manager
Emailksem@ku.edu
  • Data
  • Flags
  • Raw
Taxonomy
Scientific NameColletes
KingdomAnimalia
PhylumArthropoda
ClassInsecta
OrderHymenoptera
FamilyColletidae
GenusColletes
Specimen
Catalog Number284472
PreparationsPinned - 1
Life Stageadult
SexF
Institution CodeKU
Collection CodeSEMC
Occurrence ID360ec0ab-1ed6-11e3-bfac-90b11c41863e
Dataset NameSnow Entomological Museum Collection
Basis of RecordPreservedSpecimen
Associated Mediahttp://biimages.biodiversity.ku.edu/static/Entomology/originals/sp65865645022117195883.att.JPG
Associated TaxaMelilotus alba
Collection Event
Collected ByMichener, Charles
Date Collected1971-08-01
Year1971
Month8
Day1
Locality
CountryCanada
State / ProvinceSaskatchewan
Higher GeographyCanada, Saskatchewan
ContinentNearctic
LocalitySwift Current
Decimal Latitude50.2833
Decimal Longitude-107.7667
specimen list