× Take our 30-second survey
The U.S. National Science Foundation and iDigBio are required to collect information on use of digitized collections-based specimen data. Please help us meet this requirement every time you use this search portal. Sustainability of the national digitization effort depends on evidence of data use! Maybe later.

Specimen Record

ContinentSouth America
CountryVenezuela
State/ProvinceAragua
LocalityHenri Pittier National Park, Rio Castano, Regresiva Del Diablo
Latitude10.35669
Longitude-67.60645
Institution CodeKu
Collection CodeSemc
Catalog Number880407
Collected ByShort, Andrew
Date Collected2009-01-06

From Recordset

http://biodiversity.ku.edu/entomology/collections

SEMC (Snow Entomological Museum Collection) comprises nearly 5 million pinned insect specimens. Our strengths are Apoidea, Neotropical Coleoptera (especially Staphylinidae, Hydrophiloidea, and Chrysomoloidea), Mecoptera, and fossil insects. We have digitized approximately 800,000 individual specimens (mostly Apoidea and Staphylinidae, Orthoptera, and various other smaller families).

Contacts

Name Jennifer Thomas
RoleAssistant Collection Manager
Emailjct@ku.edu
Name Jennifer Thomas
RoleAssistant Collection Manager
Emailjct@ku.edu
Name Michael Engel
RoleCurator in Charge
Emailmsengel@ku.edu
Name Caroline Chaboo
RoleCurator
Emailcschaboo@ku.edu
Name Andrew Short
RoleCurator
Emailaezshort@ku.edu
Name Laura Russell
RoleVertNet Programmer
Emaillarussell@ku.edu
Name Zack Falin
RoleCollection Manager
Emailksem@ku.edu
  • Data
  • Flags
  • Raw
Taxonomy
Scientific NameHeterelmis
KingdomAnimalia
PhylumArthropoda
ClassInsecta
OrderColeoptera
FamilyElmidae
GenusHeterelmis
Specimen
Identified ByMaier, Crystal
Date Identified2010
Catalog Number880407
PreparationsPinned - 1
Institution CodeKU
Collection CodeSEMC
Occurrence ID3cfe507d-1ed6-11e3-bfac-90b11c41863e
Dataset NameSnow Entomological Museum Collection
Basis of RecordPreservedSpecimen
Collection Event
Collected ByShort, Andrew
Date Collected2009-01-06
Year2009
Month1
Day6
Locality
CountryVenezuela
State / ProvinceAragua
Higher GeographyVenezuela, Aragua
ContinentNeotropical
LocalityHenri Pittier National Park, Rio Castano, Regresiva del Diablo
Decimal Latitude10.35669
Decimal Longitude-67.60645
Georeference ProtocolGPS
Geodetic DatumWGS84
specimen list