× Take our 30-second survey
The U.S. National Science Foundation and iDigBio are required to collect information on use of digitized collections-based specimen data. Please help us meet this requirement every time you use this search portal. Sustainability of the national digitization effort depends on evidence of data use! Maybe later.

Specimen Record

ContinentArctic Ocean
CountryUnited States
State/ProvinceMontana
County/ParishMissoula
LocalityLubrecht Forest, Elk Creek
Institution CodeKu
Collection CodeSemc
Catalog Number1190386
Collected ByHaick, R
Date Collected1972-01-22

From Recordset

http://biodiversity.ku.edu/entomology/collections

SEMC (Snow Entomological Museum Collection) comprises nearly 5 million pinned insect specimens. Our strengths are Apoidea, Neotropical Coleoptera (especially Staphylinidae, Hydrophiloidea, and Chrysomoloidea), Mecoptera, and fossil insects. We have digitized approximately 800,000 individual specimens (mostly Apoidea and Staphylinidae, Orthoptera, and various other smaller families).

Contacts

Name Jennifer Thomas
RoleAssistant Collection Manager
Emailjct@ku.edu
Name Jennifer Thomas
RoleAssistant Collection Manager
Emailjct@ku.edu
Name Michael Engel
RoleCurator in Charge
Emailmsengel@ku.edu
Name Caroline Chaboo
RoleCurator
Emailcschaboo@ku.edu
Name Andrew Short
RoleCurator
Emailaezshort@ku.edu
Name Laura Russell
RoleVertNet Programmer
Emaillarussell@ku.edu
Name Zack Falin
RoleCollection Manager
Emailksem@ku.edu
  • Data
  • Flags
  • Raw
Taxonomy
Scientific NameBoreus pilosus
KingdomAnimalia
PhylumArthropoda
ClassInsecta
OrderMecoptera
FamilyBoreidae
GenusBoreus
Specific Epithetpilosus
Specimen
Identified ByPenny, N
Date Identified1972
Catalog Number1190386
PreparationsAlcohol - 1
Institution CodeKU
Collection CodeSEMC
Occurrence ID46a4b178-3ab0-4c8a-b984-651166cbf435
Dataset NameSnow Entomological Museum Collection
Basis of RecordPreservedSpecimen
Collection Event
Collected ByHaick, R
Date Collected1972-01-22
Year1972
Month1
Day22
Locality
CountryUnited States
State / ProvinceMontana
CountyMissoula
Higher GeographyUnited States, Montana, Missoula
ContinentNearctic
LocalityLubrecht Forest, Elk Creek
Maximum Elevation in Meters4000
Minimum Elevation in Meters4000
specimen list