× Take our 30-second survey
The U.S. National Science Foundation and iDigBio are required to collect information on use of digitized collections-based specimen data. Please help us meet this requirement every time you use this search portal. Sustainability of the national digitization effort depends on evidence of data use! Maybe later.

Specimen Record

ContinentAfrica
CountryMadagascar
State/ProvinceAntsiranana
LocalityMarojejy Nature Reserve, 8km Nw Manantenina
Latitude-14.4366667
Longitude49.775
Institution CodeKu
Collection CodeSemc
Catalog Number496562
Collected ByQuinter, E & Nguyen
Date Collected1996-10-05

From Recordset

http://biodiversity.ku.edu/entomology/collections

SEMC (Snow Entomological Museum Collection) comprises nearly 5 million pinned insect specimens. Our strengths are Apoidea, Neotropical Coleoptera (especially Staphylinidae, Hydrophiloidea, and Chrysomoloidea), Mecoptera, and fossil insects. We have digitized approximately 800,000 individual specimens (mostly Apoidea and Staphylinidae, Orthoptera, and various other smaller families).

Contacts

Name Jennifer Thomas
RoleAssistant Collection Manager
Emailjct@ku.edu
Name Jennifer Thomas
RoleAssistant Collection Manager
Emailjct@ku.edu
Name Michael Engel
RoleCurator in Charge
Emailmsengel@ku.edu
Name Caroline Chaboo
RoleCurator
Emailcschaboo@ku.edu
Name Andrew Short
RoleCurator
Emailaezshort@ku.edu
Name Laura Russell
RoleVertNet Programmer
Emaillarussell@ku.edu
Name Zack Falin
RoleCollection Manager
Emailksem@ku.edu
  • Data
  • Flags
  • Raw
Taxonomy
Scientific NameAethina
KingdomAnimalia
PhylumArthropoda
ClassInsecta
OrderColeoptera
FamilyNitidulidae
GenusAethina
Specimen
Identified ByCline, Andrew
Date Identified2002
Catalog Number496562
PreparationsPinned - 1
Life Stageadult
Institution CodeKU
Collection CodeSEMC
Occurrence ID1fc337fb-1ed6-11e3-bfac-90b11c41863e
Dataset NameSnow Entomological Museum Collection
Basis of RecordPreservedSpecimen
Collection Event
Collected ByQuinter, E & Nguyen
Date Collected1996-10-05
Year1996
Month10
Day5
Locality
CountryMadagascar
State / ProvinceAntsiranana
Higher GeographyMadagascar, Antsiranana
ContinentAfrotropical
LocalityMarojejy Nature Reserve, 8km NW Manantenina
Decimal Latitude-14.4366667
Decimal Longitude49.7750000
Maximum Elevation in Meters450
Minimum Elevation in Meters450
specimen list