× Take our 30-second survey
The U.S. National Science Foundation and iDigBio are required to collect information on use of digitized collections-based specimen data. Please help us meet this requirement every time you use this search portal. Sustainability of the national digitization effort depends on evidence of data use! Maybe later.

Specimen Record

ContinentSouth America
CountryVenezuela
State/ProvinceAmazonas
LocalityCa.15 Km S Puerto Ayacucho, Nr Campamento Canturama
Latitude5.5103833
Longitude-67.6018167
Institution CodeKu
Collection CodeSemc
Catalog Number831609
Collected ByShort, Andrew
Date Collected2007-09-14

From Recordset

http://biodiversity.ku.edu/entomology/collections

SEMC (Snow Entomological Museum Collection) comprises nearly 5 million pinned insect specimens. Our strengths are Apoidea, Neotropical Coleoptera (especially Staphylinidae, Hydrophiloidea, and Chrysomoloidea), Mecoptera, and fossil insects. We have digitized approximately 800,000 individual specimens (mostly Apoidea and Staphylinidae, Orthoptera, and various other smaller families).

Contacts

Name Jennifer Thomas
RoleAssistant Collection Manager
Emailjct@ku.edu
Name Jennifer Thomas
RoleAssistant Collection Manager
Emailjct@ku.edu
Name Michael Engel
RoleCurator in Charge
Emailmsengel@ku.edu
Name Caroline Chaboo
RoleCurator
Emailcschaboo@ku.edu
Name Andrew Short
RoleCurator
Emailaezshort@ku.edu
Name Laura Russell
RoleVertNet Programmer
Emaillarussell@ku.edu
Name Zack Falin
RoleCollection Manager
Emailksem@ku.edu
  • Data
  • Flags
  • Raw
Taxonomy
Scientific NameOocyclus petra
KingdomAnimalia
PhylumArthropoda
ClassInsecta
OrderColeoptera
FamilyHydrophilidae
GenusOocyclus
Specific Epithetpetra
Specimen
Type StatusParatype
Identified ByShort, Andrew
Date Identified2010
Catalog Number831609
PreparationsPinned - 1
Institution CodeKU
Collection CodeSEMC
Occurrence ID33e033d0-1ed6-11e3-bfac-90b11c41863e
Dataset NameSnow Entomological Museum Collection
Basis of RecordPreservedSpecimen
Collection Event
Collected ByShort, Andrew
Date Collected2007-09-14
Year2007
Month9
Day14
Locality
CountryVenezuela
State / ProvinceAmazonas
Higher GeographyVenezuela, Amazonas
ContinentNeotropical
Localityca.15 km S Puerto Ayacucho, nr Campamento Canturama
Decimal Latitude5.5103833
Decimal Longitude-67.6018167
Maximum Elevation in Meters100
Minimum Elevation in Meters100
specimen list