× Take our 30-second survey
The U.S. National Science Foundation and iDigBio are required to collect information on use of digitized collections-based specimen data. Please help us meet this requirement every time you use this search portal. Sustainability of the national digitization effort depends on evidence of data use! Maybe later.

Specimen Record

ContinentSouth America
CountryChile
State/ProvinceBio-bio
County/ParishArauco
LocalityPuente Rio Trongol
Latitude-37.55
Longitude-73.43333
Institution CodeKu
Collection CodeSemc
Catalog Number86774
Collected ByCekalovic, T
Date Collected1997-04-12

From Recordset

http://biodiversity.ku.edu/entomology/collections

SEMC (Snow Entomological Museum Collection) comprises nearly 5 million pinned insect specimens. Our strengths are Apoidea, Neotropical Coleoptera (especially Staphylinidae, Hydrophiloidea, and Chrysomoloidea), Mecoptera, and fossil insects. We have digitized approximately 800,000 individual specimens (mostly Apoidea and Staphylinidae, Orthoptera, and various other smaller families).

Contacts

Name Jennifer Thomas
RoleAssistant Collection Manager
Emailjct@ku.edu
Name Jennifer Thomas
RoleAssistant Collection Manager
Emailjct@ku.edu
Name Michael Engel
RoleCurator in Charge
Emailmsengel@ku.edu
Name Caroline Chaboo
RoleCurator
Emailcschaboo@ku.edu
Name Andrew Short
RoleCurator
Emailaezshort@ku.edu
Name Laura Russell
RoleVertNet Programmer
Emaillarussell@ku.edu
Name Zack Falin
RoleCollection Manager
Emailksem@ku.edu
  • Data
  • Flags
  • Raw
Taxonomy
Scientific NameGnathymenus
KingdomAnimalia
PhylumArthropoda
ClassInsecta
OrderColeoptera
FamilyStaphylinidae
GenusGnathymenus
Specimen
Identified ByAshe, James
Date Identified1997
Catalog Number86774
PreparationsPinned - 1
Life Stageadult
Institution CodeKU
Collection CodeSEMC
Occurrence ID29faff14-1ed6-11e3-bfac-90b11c41863e
Dataset NameSnow Entomological Museum Collection
Basis of RecordPreservedSpecimen
Collection Event
Collected ByCekalovic, T
Date Collected1997-04-12
Year1997
Month4
Day12
Locality
CountryChile
State / ProvinceBio-Bio
CountyArauco
Higher GeographyChile, Bio-Bio, Arauco
ContinentNeotropical
LocalityPuente Rio Trongol
Decimal Latitude-37.5500000
Decimal Longitude-73.4333300
Maximum Elevation in Meters10
Minimum Elevation in Meters0
Georeference ProtocolGEOLocate
Georeference RemarksCoord CMaier 25 Jan 2011
specimen list