× Take our 30-second survey
The U.S. National Science Foundation and iDigBio are required to collect information on use of digitized collections-based specimen data. Please help us meet this requirement every time you use this search portal. Sustainability of the national digitization effort depends on evidence of data use! Maybe later.

Specimen Record

ContinentNorth America
CountryCosta Rica
LocalityRio Torres
Institution CodeKu
Collection CodeSemc
Catalog Number1222114
Collected BySchmidt, Heinrich
Date Collected1932-02-10

From Recordset

http://biodiversity.ku.edu/entomology/collections

SEMC (Snow Entomological Museum Collection) comprises nearly 5 million pinned insect specimens. Our strengths are Apoidea, Neotropical Coleoptera (especially Staphylinidae, Hydrophiloidea, and Chrysomoloidea), Mecoptera, and fossil insects. We have digitized approximately 800,000 individual specimens (mostly Apoidea and Staphylinidae, Orthoptera, and various other smaller families).

Contacts

Name Jennifer Thomas
RoleAssistant Collection Manager
Emailjct@ku.edu
Name Jennifer Thomas
RoleAssistant Collection Manager
Emailjct@ku.edu
Name Michael Engel
RoleCurator in Charge
Emailmsengel@ku.edu
Name Caroline Chaboo
RoleCurator
Emailcschaboo@ku.edu
Name Andrew Short
RoleCurator
Emailaezshort@ku.edu
Name Laura Russell
RoleVertNet Programmer
Emaillarussell@ku.edu
Name Zack Falin
RoleCollection Manager
Emailksem@ku.edu
  • Data
  • Flags
  • Raw
Taxonomy
Scientific NameGraptocorixa melanogaster
KingdomAnimalia
PhylumArthropoda
ClassInsecta
OrderHemiptera
FamilyCorixidae
GenusGraptocorixa
Specific Epithetmelanogaster
Specimen
Catalog Number1222114
PreparationsPinned - 1
Life Stageadult
Institution CodeKU
Collection CodeSEMC
Occurrence ID79445b3e-11ca-44bc-8837-e96f8ade44ab
Dataset NameSnow Entomological Museum Collection
Basis of RecordPreservedSpecimen
Associated Mediahttp://biimages.biodiversity.ku.edu/static/Entomology/originals/sp65687267980522237436.att.JPG
Collection Event
Collected BySchmidt, Heinrich
Date Collected1932-02-10
Year1932
Month2
Day10
Locality
CountryCosta Rica
Higher GeographyCosta Rica
ContinentNeotropical
LocalityRio Torres
specimen list