× Take our 30-second survey
The U.S. National Science Foundation and iDigBio are required to collect information on use of digitized collections-based specimen data. Please help us meet this requirement every time you use this search portal. Sustainability of the national digitization effort depends on evidence of data use! Maybe later.

Specimen Record

ContinentNorth America
CountryGuatemala
State/ProvinceSacatepequez
LocalityAntigua, 5 Km Se
Latitude14.541550000000003
Longitude-90.71138
Institution CodeKu
Collection CodeSemc
Catalog Number888772
Collected ByLlama Project
Date Collected2009-06-12

From Recordset

http://biodiversity.ku.edu/entomology/collections

SEMC (Snow Entomological Museum Collection) comprises nearly 5 million pinned insect specimens. Our strengths are Apoidea, Neotropical Coleoptera (especially Staphylinidae, Hydrophiloidea, and Chrysomoloidea), Mecoptera, and fossil insects. We have digitized approximately 800,000 individual specimens (mostly Apoidea and Staphylinidae, Orthoptera, and various other smaller families).

Contacts

Name Jennifer Thomas
RoleAssistant Collection Manager
Emailjct@ku.edu
Name Jennifer Thomas
RoleAssistant Collection Manager
Emailjct@ku.edu
Name Michael Engel
RoleCurator in Charge
Emailmsengel@ku.edu
Name Caroline Chaboo
RoleCurator
Emailcschaboo@ku.edu
Name Andrew Short
RoleCurator
Emailaezshort@ku.edu
Name Laura Russell
RoleVertNet Programmer
Emaillarussell@ku.edu
Name Zack Falin
RoleCollection Manager
Emailksem@ku.edu
  • Data
  • Flags
  • Raw
Taxonomy
Scientific NameLeiodidae
KingdomAnimalia
PhylumArthropoda
ClassInsecta
OrderColeoptera
FamilyLeiodidae
Specimen
Identified ByFalin, Zachary
Date Identified2010
Catalog Number888772
PreparationsPinned - 1
Institution CodeKU
Collection CodeSEMC
Occurrence ID354fad72-1ed6-11e3-bfac-90b11c41863e
Dataset NameSnow Entomological Museum Collection
Basis of RecordPreservedSpecimen
Collection Event
Collected ByLLAMA Project
Date Collected2009-06-12
Year2009
Month6
Day12
Locality
CountryGuatemala
State / ProvinceSacatepequez
Higher GeographyGuatemala, Sacatepequez
ContinentNeotropical
LocalityAntigua, 5 km SE
Decimal Latitude14.54155
Decimal Longitude-90.71138
Maximum Elevation in Meters1715
Minimum Elevation in Meters1715
Georeference ProtocolGPS
Geodetic DatumWGS84
specimen list