× Take our 30-second survey
The U.S. National Science Foundation and iDigBio are required to collect information on use of digitized collections-based specimen data. Please help us meet this requirement every time you use this search portal. Sustainability of the national digitization effort depends on evidence of data use! Maybe later.

Specimen Record

ContinentSouth America
CountryVenezuela
State/ProvinceBarinas
LocalityE Los Pasitos
Latitude8.4746167
Longitude-70.5365667
Institution CodeKu
Collection CodeSemc
Catalog Number862104
Collected ByShort, Sites, Gustafson, Garcia, Camacho, Shepard, Inciarte
Date Collected2009-07-14

From Recordset

http://biodiversity.ku.edu/entomology/collections

SEMC (Snow Entomological Museum Collection) comprises nearly 5 million pinned insect specimens. Our strengths are Apoidea, Neotropical Coleoptera (especially Staphylinidae, Hydrophiloidea, and Chrysomoloidea), Mecoptera, and fossil insects. We have digitized approximately 800,000 individual specimens (mostly Apoidea and Staphylinidae, Orthoptera, and various other smaller families).

Contacts

Name Jennifer Thomas
RoleAssistant Collection Manager
Emailjct@ku.edu
Name Jennifer Thomas
RoleAssistant Collection Manager
Emailjct@ku.edu
Name Michael Engel
RoleCurator in Charge
Emailmsengel@ku.edu
Name Caroline Chaboo
RoleCurator
Emailcschaboo@ku.edu
Name Andrew Short
RoleCurator
Emailaezshort@ku.edu
Name Laura Russell
RoleVertNet Programmer
Emaillarussell@ku.edu
Name Zack Falin
RoleCollection Manager
Emailksem@ku.edu
  • Data
  • Flags
  • Raw
Taxonomy
Scientific NameCelina
KingdomAnimalia
PhylumArthropoda
ClassInsecta
OrderColeoptera
FamilyDytiscidae
GenusCelina
Specimen
Identified ByShort, Andrew
Date Identified2009
Catalog Number862104
PreparationsPinned - 1
Institution CodeKU
Collection CodeSEMC
Occurrence ID1aa16826-1ed6-11e3-bfac-90b11c41863e
Dataset NameSnow Entomological Museum Collection
Basis of RecordPreservedSpecimen
Collection Event
Collected ByShort, Sites, Gustafson, Garcia, Camacho, Shepard, Inciarte
Date Collected2009-07-14
Year2009
Month7
Day14
Locality
CountryVenezuela
State / ProvinceBarinas
Higher GeographyVenezuela, Barinas
ContinentNeotropical
LocalityE Los Pasitos
Decimal Latitude8.4746167
Decimal Longitude-70.5365667
Maximum Elevation in Meters205
Minimum Elevation in Meters205
Geodetic DatumWGS84
specimen list