× Take our 30-second survey
The U.S. National Science Foundation and iDigBio are required to collect information on use of digitized collections-based specimen data. Please help us meet this requirement every time you use this search portal. Sustainability of the national digitization effort depends on evidence of data use! Maybe later.

Specimen Record

ContinentNorth America
CountryNicaragua
State/ProvinceMatagalpa
LocalityReserva Natural Cerro Musun
Latitude12.95903
Longitude-85.22736
Institution CodeKu
Collection CodeSemc
Catalog Number1034402
Collected ByLlama Project
Date Collected2011-05-01

From Recordset

http://biodiversity.ku.edu/entomology/collections

SEMC (Snow Entomological Museum Collection) comprises nearly 5 million pinned insect specimens. Our strengths are Apoidea, Neotropical Coleoptera (especially Staphylinidae, Hydrophiloidea, and Chrysomoloidea), Mecoptera, and fossil insects. We have digitized approximately 800,000 individual specimens (mostly Apoidea and Staphylinidae, Orthoptera, and various other smaller families).

Contacts

Name Jennifer Thomas
RoleAssistant Collection Manager
Emailjct@ku.edu
Name Jennifer Thomas
RoleAssistant Collection Manager
Emailjct@ku.edu
Name Michael Engel
RoleCurator in Charge
Emailmsengel@ku.edu
Name Caroline Chaboo
RoleCurator
Emailcschaboo@ku.edu
Name Andrew Short
RoleCurator
Emailaezshort@ku.edu
Name Laura Russell
RoleVertNet Programmer
Emaillarussell@ku.edu
Name Zack Falin
RoleCollection Manager
Emailksem@ku.edu
  • Data
  • Flags
  • Raw
Taxonomy
Scientific NameOnthophagus
KingdomAnimalia
PhylumArthropoda
ClassInsecta
OrderColeoptera
FamilyScarabaeidae
GenusOnthophagus
Specimen
Identified BySmith, Andrew
Date Identified2014
Catalog Number1034402
PreparationsPinned - 1
Life Stageadult
Institution CodeKU
Collection CodeSEMC
Occurrence ID490ea2f5-1ed6-11e3-bfac-90b11c41863e
Dataset NameSnow Entomological Museum Collection
Basis of RecordPreservedSpecimen
Collection Event
Collected ByLLAMA Project
Date Collected2011-05-01
Year2011
Month5
Day1
Locality
CountryNicaragua
State / ProvinceMatagalpa
Higher GeographyNicaragua, Matagalpa
ContinentNeotropical
LocalityReserva Natural Cerro Musun
Decimal Latitude12.95903
Decimal Longitude-85.22736
Maximum Elevation in Meters580
Minimum Elevation in Meters580
Georeference ProtocolGPS
Geodetic DatumWGS84
specimen list