× Take our 30-second survey
The U.S. National Science Foundation and iDigBio are required to collect information on use of digitized collections-based specimen data. Please help us meet this requirement every time you use this search portal. Sustainability of the national digitization effort depends on evidence of data use! Maybe later.

Specimen Record

ContinentSouth America
CountryVenezuela
State/ProvinceBolivar
LocalityGran Sabana, N Santa Elena, River At Hwy 10 Crossing
Latitude4.6720333
Longitude-61.0680667
Institution CodeKu
Collection CodeSemc
Catalog Number909564
Collected ByShort, Tellez, Camacho
Date Collected2010-07-15

From Recordset

http://biodiversity.ku.edu/entomology/collections

SEMC (Snow Entomological Museum Collection) comprises nearly 5 million pinned insect specimens. Our strengths are Apoidea, Neotropical Coleoptera (especially Staphylinidae, Hydrophiloidea, and Chrysomoloidea), Mecoptera, and fossil insects. We have digitized approximately 800,000 individual specimens (mostly Apoidea and Staphylinidae, Orthoptera, and various other smaller families).

Contacts

Name Jennifer Thomas
RoleAssistant Collection Manager
Emailjct@ku.edu
Name Jennifer Thomas
RoleAssistant Collection Manager
Emailjct@ku.edu
Name Michael Engel
RoleCurator in Charge
Emailmsengel@ku.edu
Name Caroline Chaboo
RoleCurator
Emailcschaboo@ku.edu
Name Andrew Short
RoleCurator
Emailaezshort@ku.edu
Name Laura Russell
RoleVertNet Programmer
Emaillarussell@ku.edu
Name Zack Falin
RoleCollection Manager
Emailksem@ku.edu
  • Data
  • Flags
  • Raw
Taxonomy
Scientific NameColeoptera
KingdomAnimalia
PhylumArthropoda
ClassInsecta
OrderColeoptera
Specimen
Catalog Number909564
PreparationsPinned - 1
Life Stageadult
Institution CodeKU
Collection CodeSEMC
Occurrence ID1e8ab6c3-1ed6-11e3-bfac-90b11c41863e
Dataset NameSnow Entomological Museum Collection
Basis of RecordPreservedSpecimen
Collection Event
Collected ByShort, Tellez, Camacho
Date Collected2010-07-15
Year2010
Month7
Day15
Locality
CountryVenezuela
State / ProvinceBolivar
Higher GeographyVenezuela, Bolivar
ContinentNeotropical
LocalityGran Sabana, N Santa Elena, River at Hwy 10 crossing
Decimal Latitude4.6720333
Decimal Longitude-61.0680667
Maximum Elevation in Meters876
Minimum Elevation in Meters876
Georeference ProtocolGPS
Geodetic DatumWGS84
specimen list