× Take our 30-second survey
The U.S. National Science Foundation and iDigBio are required to collect information on use of digitized collections-based specimen data. Please help us meet this requirement every time you use this search portal. Sustainability of the national digitization effort depends on evidence of data use! Maybe later.

Specimen Record

ContinentArctic Ocean
CountryUnited States
State/ProvinceFlorida
County/ParishHillsborough
LocalityPlant City
Latitude28.0183
Longitude-82.1131
Institution CodeKu
Collection CodeSemc
Catalog Number1244498
Collected ByBare, C
Date Collected1927-01-04

From Recordset

http://biodiversity.ku.edu/entomology/collections

SEMC (Snow Entomological Museum Collection) comprises nearly 5 million pinned insect specimens. Our strengths are Apoidea, Neotropical Coleoptera (especially Staphylinidae, Hydrophiloidea, and Chrysomoloidea), Mecoptera, and fossil insects. We have digitized approximately 800,000 individual specimens (mostly Apoidea and Staphylinidae, Orthoptera, and various other smaller families).

Contacts

Name Jennifer Thomas
RoleAssistant Collection Manager
Emailjct@ku.edu
Name Jennifer Thomas
RoleAssistant Collection Manager
Emailjct@ku.edu
Name Michael Engel
RoleCurator in Charge
Emailmsengel@ku.edu
Name Caroline Chaboo
RoleCurator
Emailcschaboo@ku.edu
Name Andrew Short
RoleCurator
Emailaezshort@ku.edu
Name Laura Russell
RoleVertNet Programmer
Emaillarussell@ku.edu
Name Zack Falin
RoleCollection Manager
Emailksem@ku.edu
  • Data
  • Flags
  • Raw
Taxonomy
Scientific NameNotonecta indica
KingdomAnimalia
PhylumArthropoda
ClassInsecta
OrderHemiptera
FamilyNotonectidae
GenusNotonecta
Specific Epithetindica
Specimen
Catalog Number1244498
PreparationsPinned - 1
Life Stageadult
Institution CodeKU
Collection CodeSEMC
Occurrence ID5df34c46-1a91-4a4d-9ae6-366877b36cd2
Dataset NameSnow Entomological Museum Collection
Basis of RecordPreservedSpecimen
Associated Mediahttp://biimages.biodiversity.ku.edu/static/Entomology/originals/sp6812699766403807609.att.JPG
Collection Event
Collected ByBare, C
Date Collected1927-01-04
Year1927
Month1
Day4
Locality
CountryUnited States
State / ProvinceFlorida
CountyHillsborough
Higher GeographyUnited States, Florida, Hillsborough
ContinentNearctic
LocalityPlant City
Decimal Latitude28.0183
Decimal Longitude-82.1131
specimen list