× Take our 30-second survey
The U.S. National Science Foundation and iDigBio are required to collect information on use of digitized collections-based specimen data. Please help us meet this requirement every time you use this search portal. Sustainability of the national digitization effort depends on evidence of data use! Maybe later.

Specimen Record

ContinentArctic Ocean
CountryUnited States
State/ProvinceTexas
County/ParishHarris
LocalityHouston, Brays Bayou
Institution CodeKu
Collection CodeSemc
Catalog Number771120
Collected ByTuthill, L
Date Collected1932-11-03

From Recordset

http://biodiversity.ku.edu/entomology/collections

SEMC (Snow Entomological Museum Collection) comprises nearly 5 million pinned insect specimens. Our strengths are Apoidea, Neotropical Coleoptera (especially Staphylinidae, Hydrophiloidea, and Chrysomoloidea), Mecoptera, and fossil insects. We have digitized approximately 800,000 individual specimens (mostly Apoidea and Staphylinidae, Orthoptera, and various other smaller families).

Contacts

Name Jennifer Thomas
RoleAssistant Collection Manager
Emailjct@ku.edu
Name Jennifer Thomas
RoleAssistant Collection Manager
Emailjct@ku.edu
Name Michael Engel
RoleCurator in Charge
Emailmsengel@ku.edu
Name Caroline Chaboo
RoleCurator
Emailcschaboo@ku.edu
Name Andrew Short
RoleCurator
Emailaezshort@ku.edu
Name Laura Russell
RoleVertNet Programmer
Emaillarussell@ku.edu
Name Zack Falin
RoleCollection Manager
Emailksem@ku.edu
  • Data
  • Flags
  • Raw
Taxonomy
Scientific NameCampylacantha olivacea olivacea
KingdomAnimalia
PhylumArthropoda
ClassInsecta
OrderOrthoptera
FamilyAcrididae
GenusCampylacantha
Specific Epithetolivacea
Infraspecific Epithetolivacea
Specimen
Identified ByHebard, Morgan
Date Identified1934
Catalog Number771120
PreparationsPinned - 1
Life Stageadult
Institution CodeKU
Collection CodeSEMC
Occurrence ID3657f27c-1ed6-11e3-bfac-90b11c41863e
Dataset NameSnow Entomological Museum Collection
Basis of RecordPreservedSpecimen
Associated Mediahttp://biimages.biodiversity.ku.edu/static/Entomology/originals/sp66334965012194401873.att.JPG
Collection Event
Collected ByTuthill, L
Date Collected1932-11-03
Year1932
Month11
Day3
Locality
CountryUnited States
State / ProvinceTexas
CountyHarris
Higher GeographyUnited States, Texas, Harris
ContinentNearctic
LocalityHouston, Brays Bayou
specimen list