× Take our 30-second survey
The U.S. National Science Foundation and iDigBio are required to collect information on use of digitized collections-based specimen data. Please help us meet this requirement every time you use this search portal. Sustainability of the national digitization effort depends on evidence of data use! Maybe later.

Specimen Record

ContinentAsia
CountryMyanmar
State/ProvinceChin
LocalityKalemyo
Latitude23.1902778
Longitude94.0527778
Institution CodeKu
Collection CodeSemc
Catalog Number712924
Collected ByJeng, Ming
Date Collected2001-06-19

From Recordset

http://biodiversity.ku.edu/entomology/collections

SEMC (Snow Entomological Museum Collection) comprises nearly 5 million pinned insect specimens. Our strengths are Apoidea, Neotropical Coleoptera (especially Staphylinidae, Hydrophiloidea, and Chrysomoloidea), Mecoptera, and fossil insects. We have digitized approximately 800,000 individual specimens (mostly Apoidea and Staphylinidae, Orthoptera, and various other smaller families).

Contacts

Name Jennifer Thomas
RoleAssistant Collection Manager
Emailjct@ku.edu
Name Jennifer Thomas
RoleAssistant Collection Manager
Emailjct@ku.edu
Name Michael Engel
RoleCurator in Charge
Emailmsengel@ku.edu
Name Caroline Chaboo
RoleCurator
Emailcschaboo@ku.edu
Name Andrew Short
RoleCurator
Emailaezshort@ku.edu
Name Laura Russell
RoleVertNet Programmer
Emaillarussell@ku.edu
Name Zack Falin
RoleCollection Manager
Emailksem@ku.edu
  • Data
  • Flags
  • Raw
Taxonomy
Scientific NameDiptera
KingdomAnimalia
PhylumArthropoda
ClassInsecta
OrderDiptera
Specimen
Identified ByFalin, Zachary
Date Identified2007
Catalog Number712924
PreparationsPinned - 1
Life Stageadult
Institution CodeKU
Collection CodeSEMC
Occurrence ID40fb6ce9-1ed6-11e3-bfac-90b11c41863e
Dataset NameSnow Entomological Museum Collection
Basis of RecordPreservedSpecimen
Collection Event
Collected ByJeng, Ming
Date Collected2001-06-19
Year2001
Month6
Day19
Locality
CountryMyanmar
State / ProvinceChin
Higher GeographyMyanmar, Chin
ContinentOriental
LocalityKalemyo
Decimal Latitude23.1902778
Decimal Longitude94.0527778
Maximum Elevation in Meters50
Minimum Elevation in Meters50
Georeference ProtocolGPS
specimen list