× Take our 30-second survey
The U.S. National Science Foundation and iDigBio are required to collect information on use of digitized collections-based specimen data. Please help us meet this requirement every time you use this search portal. Sustainability of the national digitization effort depends on evidence of data use! Maybe later.

Specimen Record

ContinentNorth America
CountryMexico
State/ProvinceDurango
LocalityEl Salto, 35 Mi Sw
Institution CodeKu
Collection CodeSemc
Catalog Number1089853
Collected ByUniv. Of Kans. Mex. Exped.
Date Collected1958-07-23

From Recordset

http://biodiversity.ku.edu/entomology/collections

SEMC (Snow Entomological Museum Collection) comprises nearly 5 million pinned insect specimens. Our strengths are Apoidea, Neotropical Coleoptera (especially Staphylinidae, Hydrophiloidea, and Chrysomoloidea), Mecoptera, and fossil insects. We have digitized approximately 800,000 individual specimens (mostly Apoidea and Staphylinidae, Orthoptera, and various other smaller families).

Contacts

Name Jennifer Thomas
RoleAssistant Collection Manager
Emailjct@ku.edu
Name Jennifer Thomas
RoleAssistant Collection Manager
Emailjct@ku.edu
Name Michael Engel
RoleCurator in Charge
Emailmsengel@ku.edu
Name Caroline Chaboo
RoleCurator
Emailcschaboo@ku.edu
Name Andrew Short
RoleCurator
Emailaezshort@ku.edu
Name Laura Russell
RoleVertNet Programmer
Emaillarussell@ku.edu
Name Zack Falin
RoleCollection Manager
Emailksem@ku.edu
  • Data
  • Flags
  • Raw
Taxonomy
Scientific NameAbedus dilatatus
KingdomAnimalia
PhylumArthropoda
ClassInsecta
OrderHemiptera
FamilyBelostomatidae
GenusAbedus
Specific Epithetdilatatus
Specimen
Identified ByMenke, A
Catalog Number1089853
PreparationsPinned - 1
Life Stageadult
Institution CodeKU
Collection CodeSEMC
Occurrence ID4a2fd682-1ed6-11e3-bfac-90b11c41863e
Dataset NameSnow Entomological Museum Collection
Basis of RecordPreservedSpecimen
Associated Mediahttp://biimages.biodiversity.ku.edu/static/Entomology/originals/sp6-3256317098780065031.att.JPG
Collection Event
Collected ByUniv. of Kans. Mex. Exped.
Date Collected1958-07-23
Year1958
Month7
Day23
Locality
CountryMexico
State / ProvinceDurango
Higher GeographyMexico, Durango
ContinentNeotropical
LocalityEl Salto, 35 mi SW
Maximum Elevation in Meters8400
Minimum Elevation in Meters8400
specimen list