× Take our 30-second survey
The U.S. National Science Foundation and iDigBio are required to collect information on use of digitized collections-based specimen data. Please help us meet this requirement every time you use this search portal. Sustainability of the national digitization effort depends on evidence of data use! Maybe later.

Specimen Record

ContinentSouth America
CountrySuriname
LocalityCamp 3, Wehepai
Latitude2.3629333
Longitude-56.6976833
Institution CodeKu
Collection CodeNzcs
Catalog Number915732
Collected ByShort & Kadosoe
Date Collected2010-09-03

From Recordset

http://biodiversity.ku.edu/entomology/collections

SEMC (Snow Entomological Museum Collection) comprises nearly 5 million pinned insect specimens. Our strengths are Apoidea, Neotropical Coleoptera (especially Staphylinidae, Hydrophiloidea, and Chrysomoloidea), Mecoptera, and fossil insects. We have digitized approximately 800,000 individual specimens (mostly Apoidea and Staphylinidae, Orthoptera, and various other smaller families).

Contacts

Name Jennifer Thomas
RoleAssistant Collection Manager
Emailjct@ku.edu
Name Jennifer Thomas
RoleAssistant Collection Manager
Emailjct@ku.edu
Name Michael Engel
RoleCurator in Charge
Emailmsengel@ku.edu
Name Caroline Chaboo
RoleCurator
Emailcschaboo@ku.edu
Name Andrew Short
RoleCurator
Emailaezshort@ku.edu
Name Laura Russell
RoleVertNet Programmer
Emaillarussell@ku.edu
Name Zack Falin
RoleCollection Manager
Emailksem@ku.edu
  • Data
  • Flags
  • Raw
Taxonomy
Scientific NameCopelatus NT_sp9
KingdomAnimalia
PhylumArthropoda
ClassInsecta
OrderColeoptera
FamilyDytiscidae
GenusCopelatus
Specific EpithetNT_sp9
Specimen
Identified ByShort, Andrew
Date Identified2011
Catalog Number915732
PreparationsPinned - 1
Institution CodeKU
Collection CodeNZCS
Occurrence ID3a1db5ec-1ed6-11e3-bfac-90b11c41863e
Dataset NameSnow Entomological Museum Collection
Basis of RecordPreservedSpecimen
Collection Event
Collected ByShort & Kadosoe
Date Collected2010-09-03
Year2010
Month9
Day3
Locality
CountrySuriname
Higher GeographySuriname
ContinentNeotropical
LocalityCamp 3, Wehepai
Decimal Latitude2.3629333
Decimal Longitude-56.6976833
Maximum Elevation in Meters237
Minimum Elevation in Meters237
Georeference ProtocolGPS
Geodetic DatumWGS84
specimen list