× Take our 30-second survey
The U.S. National Science Foundation and iDigBio are required to collect information on use of digitized collections-based specimen data. Please help us meet this requirement every time you use this search portal. Sustainability of the national digitization effort depends on evidence of data use! Maybe later.

Specimen Record

ContinentNorth America
CountryTrinidad And Tobago
LocalityCaura Valley
Latitude10.6808333
Longitude-61.3669444
Institution CodeKu
Collection CodeSemc
Catalog Number964075
Collected ByVelez, Danny
Date Collected2007-12-28

From Recordset

http://biodiversity.ku.edu/entomology/collections

SEMC (Snow Entomological Museum Collection) comprises nearly 5 million pinned insect specimens. Our strengths are Apoidea, Neotropical Coleoptera (especially Staphylinidae, Hydrophiloidea, and Chrysomoloidea), Mecoptera, and fossil insects. We have digitized approximately 800,000 individual specimens (mostly Apoidea and Staphylinidae, Orthoptera, and various other smaller families).

Contacts

Name Jennifer Thomas
RoleAssistant Collection Manager
Emailjct@ku.edu
Name Jennifer Thomas
RoleAssistant Collection Manager
Emailjct@ku.edu
Name Michael Engel
RoleCurator in Charge
Emailmsengel@ku.edu
Name Caroline Chaboo
RoleCurator
Emailcschaboo@ku.edu
Name Andrew Short
RoleCurator
Emailaezshort@ku.edu
Name Laura Russell
RoleVertNet Programmer
Emaillarussell@ku.edu
Name Zack Falin
RoleCollection Manager
Emailksem@ku.edu
  • Data
  • Flags
  • Raw
Taxonomy
Scientific NameApoidea
KingdomAnimalia
PhylumArthropoda
ClassInsecta
OrderHymenoptera
Specimen
Catalog Number964075
PreparationsPinned - 1
Life Stageadult
Institution CodeKU
Collection CodeSEMC
Occurrence ID4112e3c3-1ed6-11e3-bfac-90b11c41863e
Dataset NameSnow Entomological Museum Collection
Basis of RecordPreservedSpecimen
Collection Event
Collected ByVelez, Danny
Date Collected2007-12-28
Year2007
Month12
Day28
Locality
CountryTrinidad and Tobago
Higher GeographyTrinidad and Tobago
ContinentNeotropical
LocalityCaura Valley
Decimal Latitude10.6808333
Decimal Longitude-61.3669444
Maximum Elevation in Meters91
Minimum Elevation in Meters91
specimen list