× Take our 30-second survey
The U.S. National Science Foundation and iDigBio are required to collect information on use of digitized collections-based specimen data. Please help us meet this requirement every time you use this search portal. Sustainability of the national digitization effort depends on evidence of data use! Maybe later.

Specimen Record

ContinentArctic Ocean
CountryUnited States
State/ProvinceKansas
County/ParishDouglas
LocalityLawrence
Latitude38.9717
Longitude-95.235
Institution CodeKu
Collection CodeSemc
Catalog Number389666
Collected ByOrdway, Ellen
Date Collected1958-10-09

From Recordset

http://biodiversity.ku.edu/entomology/collections

SEMC (Snow Entomological Museum Collection) comprises nearly 5 million pinned insect specimens. Our strengths are Apoidea, Neotropical Coleoptera (especially Staphylinidae, Hydrophiloidea, and Chrysomoloidea), Mecoptera, and fossil insects. We have digitized approximately 800,000 individual specimens (mostly Apoidea and Staphylinidae, Orthoptera, and various other smaller families).

Contacts

Name Jennifer Thomas
RoleAssistant Collection Manager
Emailjct@ku.edu
Name Jennifer Thomas
RoleAssistant Collection Manager
Emailjct@ku.edu
Name Michael Engel
RoleCurator in Charge
Emailmsengel@ku.edu
Name Caroline Chaboo
RoleCurator
Emailcschaboo@ku.edu
Name Andrew Short
RoleCurator
Emailaezshort@ku.edu
Name Laura Russell
RoleVertNet Programmer
Emaillarussell@ku.edu
Name Zack Falin
RoleCollection Manager
Emailksem@ku.edu
  • Data
  • Flags
  • Raw
Taxonomy
Scientific NameAugochlorella persimilis
KingdomAnimalia
PhylumArthropoda
ClassInsecta
OrderHymenoptera
FamilyHalictidae
GenusAugochlorella
Specific Epithetpersimilis
Specimen
Identified ByOrdway, Ellen
Catalog Number389666
PreparationsPinned - 1
Life Stageadult
Sexunknown
Institution CodeKU
Collection CodeSEMC
Occurrence ID24d0a542-1ed6-11e3-bfac-90b11c41863e
Dataset NameSnow Entomological Museum Collection
Basis of RecordPreservedSpecimen
Associated TaxaAster
Collection Event
Collected ByOrdway, Ellen
Date Collected1958-10-09
Year1958
Month10
Day9
Locality
CountryUnited States
State / ProvinceKansas
CountyDouglas
Higher GeographyUnited States, Kansas, Douglas
ContinentNearctic
LocalityLawrence
Decimal Latitude38.9717
Decimal Longitude-95.2350
Georeference Protocol
specimen list